Research Guides: HIS218F: Environmental History: Home

Articles

Subject-specific databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

The definitive index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.

History of Science, Technology and Medicine
The definitive international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine.

Interdisciplinary and general databases

Library article search (Summon)
ProQuest (Interdisciplinary)
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals, newspapers, ebooks, and more.
Popular ProQuest databases include:
- ERIC (Education)
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (Social sciences)
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (Interdisciplinary)
- PsycInfo (Psychology)
- Sociological Abstracts (Sociology)
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (Political science)

JSTOR
Interdisciplinary repository of scholarly books and articles, including history of science.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary science database

Books

Enter your keywords in the library catalogue search box below. If you want to perform a Boolean search or search across multiple fields, click on Advanced Search.

Find primary sources by adding keywords such as sources, documents, correspondence, or interviews. You can also filter by genre or subject time period.

Primary source databases

Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925, Parts 1 & 2
Scientific material, research, reports, and journals documenting the development of Western scientific knowledge in the 19th century.
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives.
U of T Libraries digitized map collection
Scanned maps from the University of Toronto's Map and Data Library and Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Searches all titles included in Proquest Historical Newspapers. International with strong American focus.

Image collections

McGill University's McCord Museum's online collections
The McCord Museum conserves and presents close to 1,500,000 objects, images and manuscripts that are irreplaceable reflections of the social history and material culture of Montreal, Quebec and Canada.
McCord Museum Flickr Stream
The Glenbow Museum's online image archive

Resource guides

NiCHE, the Network in Canadian Environmental History
Research resources for the study of environmental history.
Primary Source Databases for Historical Research
Research guide to various primary source online collections organized according to geography and theme.
Research Guide for the History of Science and Medicine
Guide to resources, including background information, books and journals.
Newspaper research guide
Canadian government information guide
Includes a section on searching for historical Canadian government information.
Foreign government information guide

Citation help

Citation Management

Citation Management Tools Comparison Table

Research help

Ask Us! Service
Get one-on-one research help from a librarian in person, over the phone, or on chat.
Finding a book chapter
How can I use subject headings to improve my searching?
How do I choose good keywords?
How to troubleshoot problems getting the full text

Jesse Carliner

Research Guides

HIS218F: Environmental History