Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Forensic Science Resources at the UTM Library

Find Forensic Science Articles

Lexis Advance Quicklaw

English- and French-language Canadian legal sources including journals, court and tribunal cases, legislation, commentary, and forms. Some coverage for UK, US, Australia, and other foreign jurisdictions.

Scopus

Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.

Web of Science

Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.

APA PsycInfo (ProQuest)

Scholarly psychological journal articles, conference papers, citations, and abstracts.

MEDLINE (Ovid)

Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

Citations information including full text access to research related to criminal justice and criminology.

CAB Abstracts (Ovid)

Citations information including abstracts to research in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. (5 simultaneous users)

Forensic Science Dictionaries and Handbooks

Forensic Science

Introduces commonly-used forensic terms, many of which are crucial to the interpretation and understanding of laboratory report findings.

A Dictionary of Forensic Science

Covers chemistry, biology, anthropology, art, engineering, firearms, toolmarks, trace evidence, crime scene investigation, case history, biographies of investigators and criminals, as well as forensic computing.

Forensic Science Handbook

The Handbook, 3rd ed., has been fully updated and revised to include the latest developments in scientific testing, analysis, and interpretation of forensic evidence.

Handbook of Forensic Medicine

Covers forensic pathology, traumatology, sudden death, clinical forensic medicine, toxicology, traffic medicine, identification, haemogenetics and medical law.

Handbook of Forensic Statistics

A collection of chapters by leading authorities in forensic statistics; written for statisticians, scientists, and legal professionals having a broad range of statistical expertise.

Dictionary of Forensic Psychology

Contains approximately 100 entries on key terms and concepts, arranged alphabetically and contributed by leading academic and practicing forensic psychologists.

APA Handbook of Forensic Psychology

Consolidates and advances knowledge about the scientific foundations and practical application of psychology to law, the practice of law, and law-related policy.

Handbook of Forensic Psychology

Psychologists act as expert witnesses in legal cases - sometimes without knowing much about the laws involved.

Handbook of Digital Forensics and Investigation

Details how to conduct digital investigations in both criminal and civil contexts, and how to locate and utilize digital evidence on computers, networks, and embedded systems.

Encyclopedias and Guidebooks

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

Forensic science includes all aspects of investigating a crime, including: chemistry, biology and physics, and also incorporates countless other specialties.

Wiley Encyclopedia of Forensic Science

Includes both the scientific methodology and the admissibility of evidence; also provides case studies of landmark cases in the definition and practice of forensic science.

Forensic Science: A Multidisciplinary Approach

Coverage includes spectroscopic analysis techniques, gas chromatography, mass spectrometry, electrochemical detection approaches, and imaging techniques, as well as biochemical, DNA-based identification methods.

Measurement Uncertainty in Forensic Science

Examines the limits of the scientific process to help determine, for various forms of evidence, tests, and analysis, the accuracy level and the parameters in which certain results fall.

Ethical Standards in Forensic Science

The book looks at ethics, bias, what constitutes an expert in the field--both as a practitioner and to the court system--as well as the standards of practice.

Forensic evidence in context : cases, materials, and commentaries

The role of the police, prosecutors, defence counsel and judges -- Disclosure, confidential records and privilege -- Courts and tribunals.

Forensic Toxicology

Synthetic cannabinoids, khat and mephodrone are discussed in detail. From use of pharmaceutical drugs in a clinical setting, through smart drugs to new psychoactive drugs, the book documents the range in which drugs today are abused.

Manual of Forensic Taphonomy

The study of the postmortem changes to human remains, focusing on environmental effects including decomposition in soil and water and interaction with plants, insects, and other animals.

Encyclopedia of Scientific Dating Methods

This volume provides an overview of (1) the physical and chemical foundations of dating methods and (2) the applications of dating methods in the sciences, biology, and archaeology.

Encyclopedia of Biometrics

This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive reference to topics in biometrics including concepts, modalities, algorithms, devices, systems, security, performance testing, applications and standardization.

Pathology, Toxicogenetics, and Criminalistics of Drug Abuse

Covers all illicit drugs, as well as several legitimate pharmaceutical preparations that are used illicitly, including steroids.

Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice

Transnational crimes involve border crossings as an integral part of the criminal activity. Examples include human trafficking, smuggling, sex slavery, non-domestic terrorism, and financial crimes.

Routledge International Handbook of Psychopathy and Crime

The state-of-the-art on the full landscape of research on antisocial behavior that employs psychopathy as a central correlate.

Introductory Texts

Forensic Science

Forensic science is a subject of wide fascination.

Forensic Science

Examines central issues within each discipline, provides perspective on current debates and explores current and proposed research initiatives.

Forensic Science in Contemporary American Popular Culture

Interrogates contemporary American culture's fascination with forensic science. Please see the chapter "The CSI Effect."

Specialty Areas

Advances in Forensic Human Identification

Covers advances in the most well-known scientific techniques and discusses new and developing subjects and modalities of human identification.

Forensic DNA Methods and Applications

The use of DNA evidence in the criminal justice system, ethical issues in forensic laboratory practices, familial searches, DNA databases, ancestry searches, physical phenotyping.

Forensic Testimony

A clear and intuitive discussion of the legal presentation of expert testimony.

The Forensic Examination

This book prepares the mental health professional to use scientific skills when working within a legal framework.

Digital Forensic Science

The application of scientific tools and methods to identify, collect, and analyze digital (data) artifacts in support of legal proceedings.

Forensic Chemistry

Presents a new approach to the study of applications of chemistry to forensic science.

Forensic Biomechanics

In forensic science, it is biomechanics that explains trauma to the body at a crime scene or the fracture of fibers and textiles, and helps interpret blood spatter.

Forensic Plant Science

Forensic botany is the application of plant science to the resolution of legal questions.

Forensic Botany

An accessible introduction to the way in which botanical evidence is identified, collected and analysed in criminal cases.