Your Library
Dentistry Library
Contact:
124 Edward Street, Room 267
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1G6
http://dentistry.library.utoronto.ca/
Toronto, Ontario, M5G 1G6
http://dentistry.library.utoronto.ca/
416-864-8211
Website
Recommended
Clinical Endodontics by
The third edition of Clinical Endodontics retains the successful format and practical scope of previous editions. The book opens with an overview of the biology of the endodontium and the apical periodontium. It then provides detailed descriptions of the etiology and pathogenesis of endodontic diseases, examination and diagnostic techniques, and treatments. The book also covers instruments, endodontic materials, endodontic retreatment, bleaching, restoration, and prognosis. Features: Easy-to-reference presentation of dental morphology and treatment guidelines Chapter on how to avoid and manage potential complications More than 550 high-quality illustrations demonstrating important concepts. This book is a valuable resource for students that will enable them to fully grasp the fundamental concepts of clinical endodontics. It is also serve as a refresher for general practitioners, postdoctoral students, and endodontists.
Call Number: RK351 .T76 2009XISBN: 3137681030Publication Date: 2008-08-20
Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp Expert Consult by
Stay up on the latest research and techniques in endodontics with Cohen's Pathways of the Pulp, 12th Edition. Written by a team of internationally renowned experts and trusted for more than 40 years, this definitive guide covers the science, theory, and practice of endodontics. Full color illustrations and detailed radiographs guide readers through each step of endodontic care - from diagnosis and treatment planning to proven techniques for managing pulpal and periapical diseases. This new twelfth edition also boasts the very latest evidence-based research and techniques, reorganized and condensed chapters, plus other features designed to help you locate important information quickly and easily. Complete with access to Expert Consult, it's everything you need to stay ahead in the field of endodontics. Extensive illustration collection includes over 2,000 full-color photos, line art, and radiographs to clearly demonstrate core concepts and reinforce the essential principles and techniques of endodontics. Video clips and case studies demonstrate key procedures such as palpation of the masseter muscle, introsseous anesthesia with the X-tip system, dentin hypersensitivity, and more. Diverse and respected contributor pool includes experts from many national- and international-based dental education programs. NEW! Updated content and new images incorporate the most recent developments in research and clinical endodontic techniques. NEW! Additional topics cover pulp biology, pathobiology, diagnosis, treatment planning, pain control, isolation, access, cleaning and shaping, obturation, restoration, assessment of outcomes, emergencies and surgery. Each online topic comes with assigned reading lists, a PowerPoint lecture, written lesson objectives, and example exam questions. NEW! Compliance with the Commission on Dental Accreditation Curriculum ensures that the needs of all dental programs are met. NEW! Reorganized sections now divide chapters by those covering clinical endodontics, those covering the biological basis of endodontics, and chapters which detail endodontics in private practice to make content easier for both clinicians and students to navigate. NEW! Condensed chapters remove unnecessary duplication of content across the text and make the physical text lighter and easier to use.
Call Number: Available in Print RK351 .P37 2016YISBN: 9780323673037Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Endodontic Irrigation by
This book reviews the available information on bacterial disinfection in endodontics, with emphasis on the chemical treatment of root canals based on current understanding of the process of irrigation. It describes recent advances in knowledge of the chemistry associated with irrigants and delivery systems, which is of vital importance given that chemical intervention is now considered one of the most important measures in eliminating planktonic microbes and biofilms from the infected tooth. Recommendations are made regarding concentrations, exposure times and optimal sequences. Possible complications related to the use of the different solutions are highlighted, with guidance on response. In addition, clinical protocols are suggested on the basis of both clinical experience and the results of past and ongoing research. Throughout, a practical, clinically oriented approach is adopted that will assist the practitioner in ensuring successful endodontic treatment.
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9783319164557Publication Date: 2015-08-05
Endodontic Radiology by
Endodontic Radiology, 2nd edition, is a unique reference that examines all aspects of radiographic imaging related to endodontics. Dr. Bettina Basrani and a team of prestigious international contributors build upon traditional radiographic techniques and include the latest information available on digital radiographs and cone beam computed tomography. More than an overview of equipment, the book delves into radiographic interpretation, differential diagnosis, technical difficulties and special circumstances when taking radiographs during the endodontic treatment, and how to choose the correct radiographic technique to obtain the desired images. Chapters explain general radiographic techniques; intraoral techniques; standard radiographs and interpretation; digital radiographs and their manipulation, storage, and interpretation; and CBCT principles, techniques, and clinical considerations.
Call Number: Available online and in print: RK351 .E53 2012YISBN: 9780470958490Publication Date: 2012-10-16
Endodontics by
ENDODONTICS: PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICE, 4th Edition is an essential scientific and clinical building block for understanding the etiology and treatment of teeth with pulpal and periapical diseases. You'll easily understand and learn procedures through step-by-step explanations accompanied by full-color illustrations, as well as video clips included on the Evolve website.. Well-known, international contributors share guidelines, expertise, and their clinical experience with contemporary technologies and procedures. Fully updated, evidence-based content integrates the best clinical evidence with the practitioner's clinical expertise and the patient's treatment needs and preferences. Authoritative, visually detailed coverage provides a practical understanding of basic endodontic principles and procedures, including pulpal and periapical diseases and their management. Organization of content reflects the order in which procedures are performed in clinical settings, enhancing your understanding the etiology and treatment of teeth with pulpal and periapical diseases. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations ensure a clear, accurate understanding of procedures, and include radiographs and clinical photographs. Learning objectives help you meet the theoretical and procedural expectations for each chapter. NEW Single Tooth Implant chapter introduces the use of single tooth implants as an important treatment option for the partially endentulous patient, covering the diagnostic, implant design, surgical, and prosthodontic innovations that have advanced the single implant restoration. NEW Diagnoses, Treatment Planning, and Systemic Considerations chapter examines current thinking on the relationship between oral disease and systemic health and how the management of patients with systemic disease (such as diabetes) may differ from that of other patients. NEW Interaction Between Generalist and Specialists chapter addresses the roles of general dentists and endodontists, and help you determine whether to perform the necessary treatment or if referral to a specialist is the better option. NEW contributors and NEW co-editor Dr. Ashraf Fouad bring a fresh perspective to the management of pulpal and periapical diseases. New! Evolve companion website includes over 40 video clips demonstrating essential procedures plus over 300 review questions including answers with rationales.
Call Number: Available online and in print: RK351 .W35 2015YISBN: 1455754102Publication Date: 2014-03-27
Endodontic Therapy by
Ideal for those who want to expand their practice by offering root canal procedures, this valuable resource emphasizes the clinical aspects of endodontics. An extensive collection of "before and after" patient cases are illustrated with a generous number of radiographs - many of which span over 25 years posttreatment. Offering the most relevant information in a convenient size, this 6th edition reflects the major changes in instruments, techniques in canal preparation, and the advances in canal filling that have occurred in the field. More than 1,000 illustrations demonstrate techniques, procedures, and follow-up results. Discussions of drug therapy include coverage of non-steroidal, antiinflammatory drugs (NSAIDs). Information on emergency treatment includes emergency treatment for patients in pain, teeth with abscesses, and treating flare-ups of infection. Retreatment and restoration of the endodontically treated tooth are addressed. Case studies illustrate endodontic-orthodontic relationships. Non-surgical alternatives to routine endodontic treatment are included. The simple, concise language makes difficult topics easy to understand. Up-to-date reference lists presented at the end of each chapter direct readers to additional literature on each topic and offer validity for all the concepts presented. The author is well-recognized, highly respected, and known for his practical, almost anecdotal approach to endodontics. Content has been completely updated, reorganized, and condensed to include only the most relevant information. Case studies including accompanying radiographs that go as far back as 25 years follow up. New changes and procedures address the problems associated with AIDS. Extensive coverage is included on the many new instruments introduced over the past 5 years. Discussions reflect advances in the areas of: injections, the use of calcium hydroxide, calculation of working length, warm gutta-percha, and the reduction of cross-contamination. Material that general dentists are not looking for in an endodontics book has been deleted, such as the science behind the practice. The overall design is now more visually appealing.
Call Number: RK351.W44ISBN: 0323019439Publication Date: 2003-09-11
Endodontology by
The most definitive and widely used periodontology text for both the classroom and clinical practice, Carranza's Clinical Periodontology, 12th Edition includes the most current periodontal information - from basic science and fundamental procedures to the latest advanced techniques in reconstructive, esthetic, and implant therapy. Written by leading experts Michael Newman, Henry Takei, Perry Klokkevold, and Fermin Carranza, along with a pool of international contributors, this text not only shows how to perform periodontal procedures, it describes how to best manage the outcomes and explains the evidence supporting each treatment. Covering all the information found on the National Board Exams in the US, this edition is a perfect choice for dental education programs and students.
Call Number: Available in Print RK351 .S43 1988 DENTISBN: 0812110897Publication Date: 1988-02-01
Essential Endodontology by
The authoritative reference that continues to present a systematic analysis of the scientific basis of endodontology The third edition of Essential Endodontology: Prevention and Treatment of Apical Periodontitis has been revised and updated to include the most recent developments in the field, maintaining its position as the major scientific treatise of apical periodontitis. Making an often-complex subject more digestible, the book explores the scientific basis of endodontology, adopting a systematic analysis of the available clinical and laboratory evidence. Promoting apical periodontitis as a disease entity, the comprehensive third edition focuses on its biology and clinical features, enabling the reader to have a better understanding of its diagnosis, prevention and treatment. In addition to thorough updates and full colour illustrations throughout, a new chapter on regenerative endodontics has been added to this edition. Written with a focus on the scientific basis of endodontology Includes a new chapter on regenerative endodontics Presents the most current information and major developments in this fast-moving field Provides helpful learning outcomes in each chapter Contains full colour illustrations, enriching the text Features contributions from a noted panel of international experts, including new contributors from across the globe Regarded as a vital companion to the pursuit of excellence in postgraduate and specialist education, Essential Endodontology is an indispensable and accessible resource for practicing endodontists, postgraduate students of endodontology and those seeking professional certification in endodontology.
Call Number: RK351.O7ISBN: 1119271991Publication Date: 2019-11-22
Harty's Endodontics in Clinical Practice by
THE SEVENTH EDITION NOW COMES WITH ACCESS TO AN ONLINE QUESTION BANK CONTAINING A WIDE RANGE OF MCQS AND CLINICAL CASES TO HELP REINFORCE LEARNING! Under the editorship of Bun San Chong, a team of international experts have come together to present the scientific basis of current endodontic practice together with ''hands-on'' advice on what to do, and when and how to do it. Perfectly tailored for undergraduate dental students and those pursuing specialist training, including extended skills in endodontics, Harty''s Endodontics in Clinical Practice reflects the latest clinical and scientific developments in the field with topics ranging from diagnosis and treatment planning to the management of the primary dentition, trauma and the relationship between endodontics and periodontal and systemic disease. Areas of debate are explained while other chapters also look at infection control, pharmacological advances and the management of pain. Harty''s Endodontics in Clinical Practice, seventh edition, provides comprehensive coverage of the subject at a level which is ideal for undergraduate dental students, those pursuing specialist training, including extended skills in endodontics, and anyone undertaking CPD, or seeking to keep up-to-date. Practical approach to the subject, taking the reader through every step of endodontic practice from its scientific basis to patient assessment and through to clinical techniques Helpful pedagogic features - including Learning Outcomes and Summary Boxes - help reinforce learning International experts and contributors help ensure good coverage and currency of information Explores areas of debate when they exist to reflect differing approaches to treatment intervention Explains the potential impact of systemic conditions and disorders, as well as medications, on endodontic treatment planning and management Discusses the diagnosis of orofacial pain and the appropriate use of antibiotics and analgesics Explores the maintenance of pulp vitality and the prevention of apical periodontitis in the context of operative dentistry Provides an overview of instruments and devices used during endodontic treatment Describes the fundamental principles of canal filling using gutta-percha, as well as the use of alternative materials, and newer root filling techniques Discusses the management of dental trauma with emphasis on accurate diagnosis, timely and appropriate treatment, and follow-up Explores the interface between endodontic-periodontal disease in the context of diagnosis, treatment and prognostic assessment Discusses common challenges such as inadequate pain control and problems with preparation and filling of the root canal system Written at a level which is ideal for dental students, general dental practitioners and those pursuing specialist training or seeking to keep up-to-date Comes with access to an online question bank containing a wide range of MCQs and Clinical Cases to help reinforce learning! Richly illustrated with over 80 colour artworks - many created by the Gray''s Anatomy illustration team - and 350 photographs, many of which are previously unpublished Explores advances in our understanding of the role of microorganisms in the pathogenesis of pulpal and periradicular diseases and the role of host defence response against root canal infection Explores the use of newer imaging techniques such as three-dimensional tomography in determining pulp space anatomy and in treatment planning Explains recent advances in material technology, molecular biology and regenerative medicine in the management of deep caries and maintenance of pulp vitality Explores the effective use of existing and newer chemomechanical preparation techniques and intracanal medication for thorough root canal system decontamination Explores advances in the techniques available for restoring endodontically treated teeth
Call Number: RK351 .H37 2017YISBN: 9780702058356Publication Date: 2016-09-27
Problem Solving in Endodontics by
Problem Solving in Endodontics, 5th Edition, by James L. Gutmann and Paul Lovdahl, offers updated techniques and an evidence-based approach to the most common procedures performed at chairside. Ideal for both endodontists and general dentists, this thoroughly revised reference combines the precision of quality endodontic care with achievable and pain-free outcomes for the patient. Each chapter has been carefully designed so that you'll quickly grasp the anatomy, the instruments needed, and what procedures should be performed -- all supplemented by boxed clinical case examples and tips. Going beyond problem solving, it also addresses the major issues in diagnostic, anatomic, restorative, periodontic, traumatic, and surgical aspects of tooth retention. Provides chairside guidance for the endodontic procedures most commonly performed by endodontists and general dentists. Entire text has expanded concepts that are verified in new drawings and clinically relevant cases. Integrates new technologies and materials into every chapter that when applied result in predictable and optimal outcomes. Establishes clear parameters for the retention of teeth. Correlates optimal patient outcomes with an evidence-based approach. Reflects the practical expertise of renowned endodontics authority and past President of the AAE, Dr. James Gutmann, and endodontics specialist, Dr. Paul Lovdahl. Every chapter has been completely rewritten, and concepts have been integrated for quick recognition, understanding and application to common, everyday challenges. The Surgery section has been expanded with new case studies, and more in-depth coverage of indications and applications for surgeries, such as crown-lengthening technique, periradicular surgery to manage perforations and resorptive defects, and other endodontically-related problems. The approach of this text is to teach the clinician how to recognize and analyze the problems encountered and to synthesize the data for realistic and successful outcomes. To help you make the best clinical decisions, this edition contains new chapters and new sections on diagnosis and treatment planning that presents crucial information on Radiographic Images, Differential Diagnosis of Bony Defects, Diagnosis of Treatment Failure, and Diagnosis of Non-odontogenic Pain. Retains a succinct, user-friendly format with a new design that includes hundreds of NEW high-quality clinical photos and art. Offers broader coverage of tooth trauma with established treatment planning outcomes. ALL references are updated and annotated in the text. Provides a practical, problem-solving approach with new chapters on: radiographic technique and interpretation; impact of pulp disease on the periodontium and vice versa; treatment failure and tooth retention; how to differentiate problems of pulp/periodontium from those that are non-odontogenic in nature; vital pulp therapy; and more.
Call Number: Available online and in print: RK351 .G88 2011ISBN: 9780323068888Publication Date: 2010-08-06
Seltzer and Bender's Dental Pulp by
This comprehensive update of a classic text presents the latest research on the dental pulp and its interaction with other tissues, highlighting its central role in both local and systemic health. The second edition has been completely revised to incorporate new chapters featuring the most topical issues in research and clinical practice, including developments in stem cell research and pulpodentin regeneration, the effects of the aging process on the pulp, and the interdependent relationship of the pulp and restorative dental procedures. New contributors bring fresh perspective to topics such as pulpal infections, odontalgia, and the relationship between the pulp and periodontal disease. Each chapter provides an introduction to its major themes for the busy clinician or dental student as well as up-to-date, biologically based clinical recommendations for restorative and endodontic procedures. Practicing clinicians will find this information to be essential to providing accurate diagnoses and effective treatment.
Call Number: RK351 .S4 2012XISBN: 0867154802Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Textbook and Color Atlas of Traumatic Injuries to the Teeth by
Textbook and Color Atlas of Traumatic Injuries to the Teeth, Fifth Edition encompasses the full scope of acute dental trauma, including all aspects of interdisciplinary treatment. This new edition embraces the significant advances made in the subject of dental traumatology since the publication of the previous edition in 2007. Thoroughly updated throughout, it includes eight new chapters, including one chapter focused on the development of bioengineered teeth and another on clinical regenerative endodontics. Providing the theoretical background behind the clinical applications, the text is supplemented by a step-by-step online guide to procedures at www.dentaltraumaguide.org. The book is also filled with full-color illustrations throughout--making it the ultimate guide for anyone treating individuals afflicted with dental injuries caused by traffic accidents, sporting injuries, violent assaults, and other falls, crashes, or injuries. New edition of the definitive reference on dental traumatology Thoroughly revised and updated with a modern look and feel Eight new chapters on innovative developments in the field Contributions from world-renowned authors and editors Linked to www.dentaltraumaguide.org with a specific chapter on how the book complements the online guide This comprehensive textbook is an invaluable reference for undergraduate BDS courses worldwide, as well as a core text for postgraduate pediatric, oral surgery, and endodontics courses.
Call Number: Available online and in print: RK490 .T49ISBN: 1119167051Publication Date: 2018-12-17
Textbook of Endodontology by
The third edition of Textbook of Endodontology provides lucid scholarship and clear discussion of endodontic principles and treatment to dental students and dental practitioners searching for current information on endodontic theories and techniques. Completely revised and updated new edition Features six new chapters Provides pedagogical features to promote understanding Includes clinical case studies to put the information in the clinical context Illustrated in full color throughout with clinical images and detailed diagrams Offers interactive multiple-choice questions on a companion website
Call Number: RK351 .T49 2010XISBN: 9781119057314Publication Date: 2018-08-06
