Research Guides: Certificate in Pathways to Health Professions: Welcome!

Welcome!

What is This Guide?

This library guide is designed to serve as a valuable resource for students in the Certificate in Pathways to Health Professions.

It was created to support your learning and exploration as future health professionals, in topics related to equity, health systems, research, and collaborative practice in primary health care. Whether you're just getting started or looking to deepen your understanding, you’ll find curated resources, readings, tools, and multimedia to guide your journey.

The guide can also help with meeting your course learning objectives and completing assignments. It has tips and resources about study skills, conducting research, reading and writing critically, maintaining academic integrity, and more!

This research guide will be continually updated and refined under the stewardship of health liaison librarians, the Associate Dean Undergraduate Programs & Curriculum, and CPHP coordinators. We encourage you to share your ideas and suggestions for future additions!

How to Navigate This Guide

Use the tabs in the panel on the left side of the guide to access information on a particular topic or theme.
Some tabs may have more specific pages listed underneath them. Hovering over the name of the tab will display any available sub-pages.
Clicking on some links may open licensed resources from the University of Toronto Libraries, like electronic books or databases. In these cases, you may be asked to log in with your UTORid and password before you can view the resource. This will verify that you are a UofT student.
If you're looking for specific content in the guide, you can use the search box in the top right corner of the guide and enter your search terms.

General Resources

The following resources are available to you on campus to support you as a U of T student! All contact information is available on the websites linked below.

Academic Advising & Career Centre

The AA&CC Office at UTSC provides support for students regarding academic advising and study skills coaching, job search assistance, resume and cover letter feedback, etc. Check out their events, programs and services on their website.

AccessAbility Services

AccessAbility Services' principal function is to support students with disabilities to navigate disability-related barriers and to promote accessible and inclusive policies, practices, procedures and programs at UTSC.

Health & Wellness Centre

All students registered at the University of Toronto with a valid student card (TCard) and health card can use the services at the Health & Wellness Centre. The Health & Wellness Centre offers health services and mental health counselling to students, and also supports healthy lifestyles through health promotion programs and events.

International Student Centre

At the International Student Centre, transition advisors are available to assist international and exchange students and newcomers with Immigration and transition support and answer any of the questions you may have. They also support all students to develop their intercultural skills and global mindfulness through Global Learning programs

Leisure

UTSC Popular Collection
Browse through the UTSC Library's popular collection, which includes books, DVDs, magazines, video games, and board games. The collection is located in the Reading Room near the front entrance of the library.

Films

Criterion-on-Demand
An online digital library of feature film titles. Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, as well as a smaller number of independent producers.
National Film Board of Canada
Canadian public film and digital media database. Coverage spans a wide range of subject areas. Includes documentary films, animation, web documentaries, and alternative dramas in both English and French.

Music

Naxos Music Library
The world's largest online classical music library. It includes 87,000 tracks from classical, jazz, world-music and historical releases.
Free Music Archive
Free Music Archive (FMA) offers free access to open licensed, original music by independent artists around the world.

Arts & Culture

Radio.Net
radio.net offers free online radio on the internet. Find and stream over 60,000 live radio stations from all over the world including radio programs, music and podcasts.
Listen Notes
Listen Notes is a search engine for podcasts. You can search by podcast or by episode.
UTSC Cookbook Collection
The UTSC Library has a cookbook collection that you are welcome to use for research or personal purposes. The collection is located in the short shelves near the front of the stacks on the left-hand side of the library. It includes current and historical cookbooks representing foods from a variety of places and cultures.
Student Recipes
Check out these student-friendly recipes!

UTSC Athletics & Recreation
The Athletics and Recreation Centre at UTSC is one of the hubs of activity on Campus and a gathering place for those pursuing a healthy active lifestyle. Learn to play a sport, join a club, take a fitness class, and enjoy UTSC's athletic facilities.
Ma Moosh Ka Win Trail Guided Walk
The Ma Moosh Ka Win Trail is a fully accessible, on-campus site that facilitates learning about, from, and on the land on which the UTSC is built. You can follow an interactive trail walk activity to engage with Indigenous epistemologies and pedagogies, Indigenous relationships to land in support of Indigenous sovereignty, and anti-colonial ways of relating and belonging.
Walking and Running Trails
Get out into nature! These trails are ideal for walking, running, and biking, as well as snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. Try out different routes to experience a variety of terrain and plant life, and get to know the scenery and wildlife of Highland Creek.
Scarborough Social Prescriptions
This resource was developed to encourage students living in Scarborough to explore our beautiful community, and in so doing promote mental health and wellbeing.

Student Organization Portal
Explore the diversity of student groups, events & opportunities from across U of T’s three campuses. With hundreds of options to choose from, there’s bound to be something for everyone!
Activities - Co-Curricular Record
Explore the Activities directory to find opportunities that are recognized for your co-curricular record.
UTSC Events
Student Life organizes a variety of events at UTSC.
Gallery 1265
Gallery 1265 is a contemporary art gallery at the University of Toronto Scarborough that provides students opportunities to exhibit their art & curate exhibitions.

Accessibility

If you are having trouble accessing content on this site, need a different format, or wish to provide feedback, contact kathryn.barrett@utoronto.ca.

Certificate in Pathways to Health Professions

Welcome!

What is This Guide?

How to Navigate This Guide

General Resources

Accessibility

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us