Research Guides: CIV1099 Writing for Researchers: Scientific Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Science and Technology by Simon Collin; Jane Russell; A. and C. Black Publishers Staff
Call Number: Reference T9 .D56 2007 (ENGINEERING)
ISBN: 0713686510
Publication Date: 2007-11-05
The popular Dictionary of Science and Technology offers over 17,000 terms from all aspects of science and technology, including chemistry, physics and biology, earth sciences, engineering, astronomy, electronics, medicine and telecommunications. This fully up-to-date second edition gives clear and concise definitions for hundreds of new terms, from fast-moving fields such as biotechnology, computing and environmental science. It's an ideal reference for students, or anyone dealing with scientific or technical language.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms by McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: Q123 .M15 2003X (GERSTEIN)
ISBN: 007042313X
Publication Date: 2002-10-17
For more than a quarter of a century, this amazingly comprehensive dictionary has been a standard international reference. Containing more than 115,000 terms and 125,000 definitions--from 100 areas of science and technology--this trusted resource provides definitions written in clear, simple language, understandable to the general reader, yet is consistent with the specialized use of the term. THE NEW SIXTH EDITION: * Thoroughly revised with 5,000 NEW TERMS * Each term includes a helpful pronunciation guide * Entries are complemented by 3,000 illustrations; appendices containing biographic listings, converison tables, taxonomic classification charts, and more * The only dictionary of scientific and technical terms to be thumb-indexed Invaluable to scientists, researchers, teachers, students, as well as interested lay persons, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is truly the single best way for anyone to gain fluency in the language of science.
Dictionary of Engineering by Sybil P. Parker (Editor); McGraw-Hill Staff
Call Number: electronic resource
ISBN: 0071410503
Publication Date: 2003-02-17
Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition, each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: * Pronunciation guide for every term * Acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations * Appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more * A convenient, quick-find format
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology by Colin Hempstead (Editor); William E. Worthington (Editor)
Call Number: Reference T9 .E462 2005 v. 1-2 (ENGINEERING)
ISBN: 1579583865
Publication Date: 2004-11-17
Comprising 440 essays arranged alphabetically, mostly on individual objects, artifacts, techniques, and products, this is an up-to-date work of reference for all those involved in teaching or researching the history of 20th-century technology.
Dictionary of Civil Engineering by David Blockley
Call Number: Reference TA9 .B56 2005 (ENGINEERING)
ISBN: 9780140515268
Publication Date: 2005
This is a completely new and fully comprehensive edition aimed at anyone who has contact with the construction industry. Written in a simple, easily accessible fashion the book contains major features on sustainability and the environment, hazard, vulnerability and uncertainty management together with new categories on business and finance, sustainability, water and transport. This edition offers easy and extensive cross referencing and definitions designed to help students to learn and associate ideas making this the perfect guide for anyone interested in any aspect of civil engineering.

Research Guides

CIV1099 Writing for Researchers

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us