Learn more about getting started with Media Commons Archives and connecting with the Media Commons Archivists:

Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF) Film Reference Library 

• Located on the 4th floor of TIFF Lightbox (St. Andrew Subway Station, on King St. W., west of University Ave.)
  • Be sure the check the library's website for hours of operation since it's open to the public on select days.
  • For Research Help: Call or email ahead of time to coordinate
  • TIFF FRL is home to unique collections including: Press kits, trade and Popular Film Magazines, files on particular films, directors, actors and companies (Browse TIFF collections, tips on how to search the collection)

Vtape is Canada's leading artist-run, not-for-profit distributor of video art.

Vtape Research Resources: 

Vtape Research Centre

• Vtape’s Research Centre is available free of charge for use by curators, programmers, scholars, critics, students, and the general public. Three work stations offer users easy access to Vtape’s Video Catalogue and Critical Writing Index. Here Vtape videos can be viewed, and users can have access to key writings, additional print materials, and our library of publications and exhibition ephemera.
• To visit our Research Centre please contact Vtape to make an appointment.
  • Telephone: (416) 351-1317 or E-mail: info@vtape.org.

Critical Writing Index

• Vtape’s Critical Writing Index is a catalogue of important articles, books, and writings about video art and artists which can be searched using an online form, but often items are accessed by visiting the Vtape Research Centre.

Online Resources highlighted by Vtape:

• FRINGE ONLINE
  • Fringe Online is a co-presentation of Vtape and the Canadian Filmmakers Distribution Centre, made possible through the generosity of the Canada Council for the Arts. It features a wide range of writings, stills and clips from Canadian media artists.
  • Fringe Online
• INDEPENDENT MEDIA ARTS ALLIANCE/ALLIANCE DES ARTS MEDIATIQUES (IMAA/AAMI)
  • The Independent Media Arts Alliance is a non-profit national arts service organization that promotes and advances the interests of a vibrant media arts community. Representing over 80 independent film, video, and new media production, distribution, and exhibition organizations in all parts of Canada, the IMAA serves over 12,000 independent media artists and cultural workers.
  • Independent Media Arts Alliance (English)
  • Alliance des arts médiatiques indépendants (Français)
• MEDIA ARTS NETWORK OF ONTARIO/RESEAU DES ARTS MEDIATIQUES DE L’ONTARIO (MANO-RAMO)
  • The Media Arts Net­work of Ontario/Réseau des arts médi­a­tiques de l’Ontario (MANO/RAMO) is Ontario’s only arts ser­vice orga­ni­za­tion exclu­sively ded­i­cated to fur­ther­ing the work of media arts orga­ni­za­tions and the inde­pen­dent artists they rep­re­sent. MANO/RAMO is a young orga­ni­za­tion focused on grow­ing its mem­ber­ship base and devel­op­ing respon­sive, inno­v­a­tive and proac­tive ini­tia­tives that cre­ate mean­ing­ful oppor­tu­ni­ties for media artists.
  • Media Arts Network of Ontario/Réseau des arts médi­a­tiques de l’Ontario
• CANADIAN ARTISTS REPRESENTATION/LE FRONT DES ARTISTES CANADIENS
  • Canadian Artists’ Representation/Le Front des artistes canadiens (CARFAC) is incorporated federally as a non-profit corporation that is the national voice of Canada’s professional visual artists. As a non-profit association and a National Art Service Organization, its mandate is to promote the visual arts in Canada, to promote a socio-economic climate that is conducive to the production of visual arts in Canada, and to conduct research and engage in public education for these purposes.
  • CARFAC
• DINAMO » DISTRIBUTION NETWORK OF ARTISTS’ MOVING IMAGE ORGANIZATIONS
  • An international coalition for distribution organisations supporting and promoting artist’s moving images. Our goal is to share our common expertise in the areas of advocacy, exhibition, preservation and education.
  • DINAMO

MZTV Museum of Television

• Located close to Liberty Village (64 Jefferson Avenue Toronto)
• The Museum’s mandate is to exhibit the world’s most comprehensive collection of North American Television Receivers for the formative fifty-year period from the 1920s to the 1970s. 

Art Gallery of Ontario - Library & Archives

The collections of the Edward P. Taylor Library & Archives provide a research context for the collection, exhibitions and public programs of the Art Gallery of Ontario.

In addition to supporting general art research, the library’s 380,000+ volumes include rare books and artists’ books and multiples. Archival collections include the archives of the Art Gallery of Ontario and extensive special collections (artists’ archives and related collections).

Book collections can be searched in the library’s online catalogue. Special collections holdings may be browsed using the AGO AtoM database, with links to detailed online finding aids where available. Please contact the reference desk for further information about AGO archives holdings.

Please visit the Edward P. Taylor Library and Archives page for information on access, finding aids, and visiting hours.

University of Toronto's Discover Archives  

Discover Archives is a shared portal for exploring archival holdings at the University of Toronto and its federated colleges. The database contains descriptions of material related to the University of Toronto's history, as well as records from private individuals, families, businesses, and organizations.

Archives in Toronto

Visit Archives 

Prepare ahead of time: 

• City of Toronto Archives
  • Booking an appointment is recommended. Find out more information or book a visit.
• Archives of Ontario 
  • Prepare for your Visit 
  • Starting your Research at Home - Research Guides and Tools

Digital Archives available through Toronto Public Library

Please note that Toronto Public Library is undergoing technical issues at this time (December 2023) and not all online materials will be available.

Toronto Public Library - Digital Archive 

• Special Collections in the Arts
• Boolean operators work in this database: AND, OR, NOT, quotation marks, asterisk and rounded brackets. 

• Digital Toronto City Directories
• Digital Archive Ontario
• Toronto Public Library's Special Collections

TPL Physical Collections 

In the Arts Department on the 5th floor of the Toronto Reference Library, there is extensive collection of materials about the art and business of film and television.

TPL Special Collections 

(full list available via the Performing Arts Archives)

Toronto Cinema: Crest Theatre Collection (1953-1966) (PDF)

• One of Toronto's and Canada's first homegrown commerical theatre companies. Founded in the early 1950s and located in a renovated cinema on Mount Pleasant Road in Toronto. Active for 13 seasons with a sophisticated repertoire including many original Canadian plays. 33 boxes and 13 scrapbooks.

Jack Karr Collection (1938-1979) (PDF)

• Scrapbooks and papers of Toronto columnist and public relations man Jack Karr, film and drama critic for the Toronto Star (1938-1959), publicity head for the Stratford Festival (1959-1965) and later the O’Keefe Centre (1965-1976). 7 boxes

Cosette Lee Collection (1911; 1920-1976) (PDF)

• Includes programs, press clippings, photographs, correspondence, scripts, elocution materials, business papers, documents from professional organizations, and miscellaneous memorabilia of the well known Canadian character actress (Toronto, 1910-1976) whose career on the stage, radio, television, and film extended over more than 50 years.3 boxes.; 812 items.