Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

CIN301: Film Cultures II - Politics and Global Media

Search Tips for Film Reviews

Film Reviews can be found in newspaper, scholarly journals, popular magazines and industry or trade magazines.

Narrow down your searches by using a Document Type filter when it's available select "Reviews" but be aware that you might have to weed through the book reviews as well (especially in the Arts Based and Interdisciplinary databases)

Below, find a list of indexes and databases and search for film titles or directors (or use the link in the side menu to jump to the section you need)

Tip - use quotation marks to tell the database to only look for particular words in a particular order, but be careful of spelling.

e.g., "I am Love" AND "Luca Guadagnino"

Have any questions or aren't able to find resources - contact Cinema Studies Librarian Kate Johnson

Film Indexes (list of significant reviews and production info)

Periodical indexes can help you find articles about a specific topic. These film indexes contain detailed production information on specific films (incl. release dates, cast,  and other production-related information). There can also be records for significant filmmakers, film studios, and some performers.

  • There should only be one record for each film unless it has been remade (check the date).
  • Scroll down the record to find citation information for key reviews and articles about the film.
  • Links will not be provided, but you can use the publishing information (e.g., periodical title, the specific date, volume and issue, and page numbers) to look up the articles in the UofT Library Catalogue. 
  • See How to Find Journal Articles, for instructions on how to use a citation to find a journal article.

If you aren't able to find the article, contact your Librarian for help.

Remember if the article isn't available at UofT Libraries, you can see about getting the article from another institution via Inter Library Loan Request.

Film Review Databases

Film Focused Databases

Arts Focused Databases

These databases are interdisciplinary so include search terms to target film-focused content (e.g. director's last name, keywords such as "motion pictures, cinema or film). This search strategy will make it easier to exclude content that focuses on other formats (e.g., book reviews, literature analysis).