Research Guides: CHE204: Applied Chemistry Laboratory I: Chemistry Resources

Find Articles

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines, focusing on the human and social impacts on both.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
Compendex® is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering abstracts database covering thousands of international engineering journals, technical reports and conference proceedings (including hard-to-find conferences). Available online from 1884-present. Can be search simultaneously with GeoRef and GEOBASE.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, patent records, chemical substances and reactions***.

***You must register individually using a computer on campus via the SciFinder Scholar registration page. More information: https://onesearch.library.utoronto.ca/linkit/scifinder-scholar-chemical-abstracts
NB: Use your "utoronto.ca" e-mail address in order to complete the registration.

More databases:

Reaxys (Beilstein/Gmelin) - Reactions and properties of organic and inorganic chemical compounds
Web of Science - Major multidisciplinary database
Scopus - Major multidisciplinary database
PubMed - biomedicine, biochemistry and life science database

WolframAlpha - Computational Knowledge Engine (You have to try it, trust me!)
NIST Chemistry WebBook - Thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data.
SDBS - Spectral database for organic compounds.

ChemDraw -A full chemical drawing package with 1H and 13C NMR and physical properties prediction.
Chemistry Dictionary - free downloadable chemistry dictionary for Microsoft Word

Health and Safety

Chemical Properties

Search Engines

Periodic Tables

Periodic Table of the Elements
Periodic Table of Videos - Short videos for each element in the periodic table.
Chemistry in its element - Podcasts telling the story behind different elements.

Technique Related