Skip to main content



This guide aims to connect researchers studying botany and plant sciences to relevant resources available through the University of Toronto Library system and beyond.

Find Articles
Open Education Resources
Botany Organizations
Engaged Students
Writing and Citation Help

Created by Lisa Ohberg

Please send suggestions for this guide to


Recommended Databases

BIOSIS Previews

BIOSIS Previews combines the citations found in Biological Abstracts (1980-), Biological Abstracts/RRM, and BioResearch Index (1965-1979). BIOSIS Previews supplies comprehensive coverage of life science journals and items from international meetings, review articles, books, and unique additional references from Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM. BIOSIS Previews covers the life sciences, from agriculture to biomedical sciences and from molecular genetics to zoology.

Forestry Abstracts

Forestry Abstracts is a fully searchable abstract database of internationally published research. It provides the latest information on forestry and forest trees, from forest management to tree biology and forest ecology. Coverage includes silviculture, provenance studies, inventories, economics, agroforestry, husbandry of non-wood forest products, tree anatomy and physiology, climate, soils, forest ecology, tree breeding, fire, forest pests and protection, forest conservation and arboriculture.


The major database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines. GEOBASE covers world wide research literature. In addition to providing comprehensive coverage of the core scientific and technical periodicals, GEOBASE has a unique coverage of non-English language and less readily available publications.


JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. It includes over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Plant Science

Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Over 250 primary research journals are scanned by specialized scientific editors to add approximately 23,000 titles to the database each year.


A major multidisciplinary database for the social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus covers research literature published in academic journals, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Scopus also covers 200 million quality Web sources, including 12.7 million patents. Web sources searched include author homepages, university sites, and resources such as preprint servers and Open Archives Initiative (OAI) compliant resources. The Citation Tracker enables researchers to evaluate research using citation information.

Web of Science

Web of Science is a major multidisciplinary database. Web of Science consists of the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index and the Social Sciences Citation Index. It can be searched as a database in the usual manner, but you can also uniquely search the citation indexes for articles that cite a known author or work.


Search Tips

Quick Reference Resources






Encyclopedias are a great place to find background information on the subject area of study as well as explaining concepts. Use the print and online encyclopedias on this page as a starting point.



Open Education Resources

Botany Open Education Resources

Index Herbarior                                                                                                                                                

The New York Botanical Garden and the International Association for Plant Taxonomy have compiled information on   3100 public herbaria and their staff in 146 countries.

Internet Directory for Botany

Guides, Directories and Links

Botanical Society of America
Scott's Botanical Links - Subject Index

Engaged Students

Seminar and Speaker Series

Want to learn more about special interest topics outside of class?

Why not attend an event, seminar or speaker series presentation hosted by one of the University's many departments, centres and institutions? They are a great learning and networking opportunity in fields of study related to or possibly engaged in food studies and issues. Some events are free, others may require a small fee or registration, check your department website and event information for details. The list of departmental events pages and speaker series below is not comphrehensive, check your department website for other intersting opportunities!

Centre for Environment Seminar Series

Centre for Global Change Science Distinguished Lecturer Series

EEB Department Seminars


Library Workshops

Library workshops are free classes for students.

Learn how to manage your references with Refworks. Or learn effective search strategies for your research. 

Find out more here and click on a particular library to see what workshops they offer.


Botany Organizations

Canadian Organizations

American Organizations

International Organizations

Writing and Citation Help

Citation Management Software can be used to help compile resources for your bibliography as you conduct your research.

Citation Machines will help you compile citations in various formats:

Cite Using the Catalogue:

Cite using tools in the library catalogue by searching for an item and clicking on "Options" and then the "Cite" function.

Cite it Right: Click on Options and then Cite to use the catalogue citation function (

Online Resources:

Print Resources:

There are numerous citation resources available in print through the University of Toronto library catalogue including the following suggested guides:

Essay Writing Help
Visit the University of Toronto Writing Centre for help with essay writing. The centre offers an abundance of information and advice on its website as well as in person writing courses, clinics and appointments for further help.


Studying for an upcoming exam? Use the library's old exam repository to search or browse for exams related to specific courses.

Study Tips:

Here are some tips to help you study for upcoming tests or exams:

  • Start studying early
  • Review lecture notes frequently
  • Rewrite or type lecture or reading notes to help with memorization and comprehension
  • Make a study guide for yourself that integrates lecture and reading notes
  • Take short breaks from studying every hour to rest your eyes and move your body
  • Find a quiet, well lit place to study
  • Ask questions! Take advantage of time in class or office hours to ask your Professor or TA for clarification

Academic Success Resources: