Research Guides: BIO434H5: Social and Developmental Determinants of Human Health: Searching for ...

Articles

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly psychological journal articles, conference papers, citations, and abstracts.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions. The Ebsco platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
For health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals and conferences. Includes more international journals than Medline. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database. It broadly covers all areas of biomedicine.

PubMed provides free access to MEDLINE plus additional life science, general science and chemistry journals.
MEDLINE (Ovid) is a commercial interface for accessing Medline.

Scholarly articles are available

for fee (e.g. subscriptions paid by the UT Library or user pay for use)
for free (Open Access. Author may be paying an article processing charge (APC).)

Versions of scholarly articles

pre-print (submitted to publication for review; released for discussion in pre-print server e.g. bioRxiv.org). For example: The Genealogical Sorting Index and species delimitation (pre-print from bioRxiv.org)
post-print (accepted peer-reviewed manuscript). For example: Evaluation of nanoparticle-ligand distributions to determine nanoparticle concentration (TSpace postprint)
version of record (formatted, final published version). For example: Chasing Ecological Interactons (from the PLOS Biology, a full open access journal)

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article
Highlighting the key components of the first and last pages of a scholarly article (version of record.) Presented by NCSU Libraries (http://www.lib.ncsu.edu)

Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Search you journal title (or ISSN i you know it) and look for the little referee icon which indicated peer reviewed content.

Primary Sources:

Examples:

Secondary Sources:

Examples:

Tertiary Sources:

compile, analyse and condense secondary sources into a convenient, easy-to-read form
tend to be factual

Examples:

From: BIO153 LibGuide, M. Thuna (Last updated: Jan 20, 2016 1:17 PM)