Research guides: APS112: Engineering Strategies &amp; Practice: Using RefWorks

Overview

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to create your own personal databases by importing references from text files or online databases and other various sources.

In this section we have created and posted tutorial videos walking you through the benefits of, and showing you how to use different tools and applications within, RefWorks, in order to give you a greater understanding and confidence with the software.

In order to watch these videos, you will have to login with your UTORid and password, and you can also scroll to the bottom of the page to access the PDF scripts for each video.

Use the link below to login to or create a RefWorks.

RefWorks

Links for RefWorks Tutorials

Video #1: The Usefulness of Citation Management Software: RefWorks
This video will show you the benefits and usefulness of citation management software like RefWorks.
Video #2: How to Make a RefWorks Account
This video shows you how to create a RefWorks account.
Video #3: Creating Reference Folders Using RefWorks
This video will be discussing the benefits of creating designated reference folders using RefWorks software, as well as showing you how to create titled folders and add references to these folders.
Video #4: Parts of a Reference
In this video, you will learn how to add and edit citation, as well as learn about metadata and how to enter it using RefWorks.
Video #5: Manually Entering a Patent into RefWorks
In this video, you will learn how to manually enter a patent into the citation management tool RefWorks. Watch to find out about patent metadata, how to search for a patent in The Lens, and enter it into RefWorks.
Video #6: Manually Entering a Reference in RefWorks
In this video, you will learn how to manually enter a standard into the RefWorks citation manager.
Video #7: Exporting References From Databases to RefWorks
This video will show you how to find, save and export references from engineering databases such as Compendex and IEEEXplore into RefWorks.
Video #8: Importing Book References from the Library Catalogue into RefWorks
This video will show you how to import a reference for a book from the library catalogue.
Video #9: Importing Website References into RefWorks
This video will show you how to download the RefWorks widget so you can save and import references from websites into RefWorks.
Video #10: Using RefWorks with Microsoft Word 365
This video will show you how to add RefWorks into Microsoft Word 365, how to change your reference style to IEEE, how to input in-text citations into your text and how to insert a bibliography into your document.
Video #11: Using RefWorks in Microsoft Word desktop version
This video will show you how to add RefWorks into Microsoft Word desktop version, how to change your reference style to IEEE, how to input in-text citations into your text and how to insert a bibliography into your document.
Video #12: Using RefWorks Projects to Share References
This video will show you how to share references in a RefWorks project with your team.
Video #13: Using RefWorks Folder to Share References
This video will show you how to share references in a RefWorks folder with your team.
Video #14: Using RefWorks with Google Docs
In this video you will learn how to install and use the RefWorks add-on in Google Docs.

Research Guides

APS112: Engineering Strategies & Practice

Overview

Links for RefWorks Tutorials

Scripts for Tutorial Videos

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us