Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ANT332H5F Human Origins I: Early Ancestors to Homo

This guide supports learning and research in the ANT332 course. What does it mean to be human? Paleoanthropologists address this question by using fossil evidence to piece together our evolutionary history. Who we are today is a product of our biological

Peer-reviewed Books and Handbooks

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution

Entries cover evidence and methods used to investigate the relationships among the living great apes, evidence about what makes the behavior of modern humans distinctive, and evidence about the evolutionary history of that distinctiveness.

A Companion to Biological Anthropology

Presents coverage of the many recent innovations and discoveries that are transforming the subject

Handbook of Paleoanthropology

Covers the full extent of current knowledge in paleoanthropology, encompassing a vast range of techniques drawn from geology, evolutionary biology, and archaeology.

Primate Origins: Adaptations and Evolution

Provides a novel focus on adaptive explanations for cranial and postcranial features and functional complexes, socioecological systems, life history patterns, etc. in early primates.

Modern Origins

Brings together new research into the archaeology, human paleontology, chronology, and environmental context of modern human origins in North Africa

Companion to Paleopathology

Overview of the field of paleopathology, integrating theoretical and methodological approaches to understand biological and disease processes throughout human history.

Evaluating Evidence in Biological Anthropology

Critical perspective to the current state of the field, exploring theory and practice in paleoanthropology, bioarchaeology, and ecology.

Biological Anthropology and Human Evolutionary Biology

Processes in Human Evolution

A completely revised understanding of human evolution, due to the recent advances in genetics, palaeontology, ecology, archaeology, geography, and climate science.

Rethinking Human Evolution

Contributors from a range of disciplines consider the disconnect between human evolutionary studies and the rest of evolutionary biology.

Human Evolutionary Biology

Selection of topics in human evolution, variation and adaptability for professionals in biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, medical sciences and psychology.

Human Variation

Updated to include the issues and controversies facing the contemporary study of diversity.

Human Biological Diversity

Textbook designed to cover the key contemporary topics in the study of human variation and human biology within the field of physical anthropology.

Human Paleobiology

Human Paleobiology provides a unifying framework for the study of human populations, both past and present, to a range of changing environments.

What It Means to Be 98% Chimpanzee

Presents molecular anthropology--a synthesis of the holistic approach of anthropology with the reductive approach of molecular genetics--as a way of improving our understanding of the science of human evolution.

Spotlight on Primatology

Studying Primates

Primatology draws on theory and methods from diverse fields, including anatomy, anthropology, biology, ecology, medicine, psychology, veterinary sciences and zoology.

Primate Origins: Adaptations and Evolution

Provides a novel focus on adaptive explanations for cranial and postcranial features and functional complexes, socioecological systems, life history patterns, etc. in early primates.

The Primate Origins of Human Nature

Blends evolutionary biology as applied to primate behavioral ecology and psychology, classical physical anthropology and evolutionary psychology of humans.

Primate Biogeography

Primate Biogeography is a subject rarely addressed as a discipline in its own right. This book will appeal to primatologists, physical anthropologists, zoologists.

Post-Genome Biology of Primates

In an era of "post-genome biology", scientists have information revealed by genome research to confront a key question in primatology and anthropology: What makes us human?

From Genes to Animal Behavior

Brings together the biological and genetic bases of behavioral diversity from within evolutionary biology, genetics, ethology, sociobiology, and comparative psychology.

Primate Life History, Sex Roles, and Adaptability

Organized around four research areas: primate life histories; sex roles, gender, and science; primate-environment interactions; primate adaptation to changing environments.

Ethnoprimatology

Combines primatological and anthropological practice to view humans and other primates as living in integrated ecological and social spaces.

Primates, Pathogens, and Evolution

Differences in immunity are the outcome of complex evolutionary processes that include interactions between the host, its pathogens and symbiont / commensal organisms.