Skip to main content

Mechanical & Industrial Engineering

A research guide to help you find relevant books and articles in the field of mechanical and industrial engineering

Search the Library Catalogue

Search the library catalogue:

 Advanced Search

 

Searching the catalogue is one way to find books, handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias. You can use the catalogue search in the box above, or you can search from the Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage.

Some possible keywords related to MIE are:

  • mechanical engineering
  • industrial engineering
  • industrial design
  • anthropometry
  • human mechanics
  • human factors
  • machine design
  • fluid mechanics
  • biomechanics

Using the search tips, you might want to combine the keywords listed with each other or with some of these terms:

  • engineering design
  • construction
  • human computer interaction
  • health aspects
  • statistical methods

Types of Books

When should I use handbooks or manuals?

  • You already know a bit about the topic
  • You want to find instructions, guidelines, or rules

Suggestions:

   ​Mark's Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers (ebook and print)

Call Number: Reference TJ151 .M37 2006


  The CRC Handbook of Mechanical Engineers (print)

Call Number: Reference TJ151.C73 2005X


  Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook (ebook)


  Geometric Dimensioning and Tolerancing for Design, Manufacturing, and Inspection (ebook and print)

Call Number: Stacks T352 .H46 2006


 Harris' Shock and Vibration Handbook (ebook)


  Handbook of Industrial Engineering Equations, Formulas and Calculations (print)

Call Number: Stacks T57 .B33 2011X


  Maynard's Industrial Engineering Handbook (print)

Call Number: Reference T56 .M39 2001X

When should I use dictionaries?

  • Finding definitions for terms or concepts

Suggestions:

  A Dictionary of Mechanical Engineering (print)

Call Number: Reference TJ9 .A85 2013Y


ASPE plumbineering dictionary: the comprehensive resource of plumbing engineering terminology for engineers, designers, and contractors  (ebook)


  A guide to surface engineering terminology (print)

Call Number: Stacks TA418.7 .G85 1995

 

When should I use encyclopedias?

  • Background information
  • Familiarizing yourself with a new topic

Suggestions:

  Encyclopedia of Operations Research and Management Science (ebook)


 Newnes mechanical engineer's pocket book (ebook)

Loading