Film Indexes Online
Allows you to search two separate databases under one interface. The two databases are AFI Catalog and the Film Index International. The AFI Catalog is the ultimate national filmography documenting American films from 1893-1972. The Film Index International is the definitive online resource focusing on entertainment films and personalities.
Academic Onefile
A multi-disciplinary scholarly article database. Many articles are full text.
This index covers film and television journals and other related publications from 1976 through 2001- Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective
Indexes the most important scholarly English language journals of the twentieth century. 1907 - 1984International index to the performing arts (IIPA)
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 260 international periodicals in the arts.Book Review Index 1965 – presentMore than 5 million citations to book reviews from thousands of publications.
FIAF International Filmarchive database This index has coverage from 1972 to the present.
ATLA Catholic periodical and literature index Looking at film from another viewpoint.
Before building your search, ask yourself the following questions:
1. What information are you looking for? Consider stating this in writing in two or three sentences.
2. Identify general concepts about the information that you are looking for, and ask how they might relate to the search terms that you might use.
3. Use keywords that are not just the obvious (genocide) but their synonymes, eg. organized massacre, murder, slaughter, holocaust,etc.
4. After you have located a couple of relevant documents, consider using descriptors attached to the record to locate similar records.