Artwork, books, medieval manuscripts, photographs, recordings, sheet music, and artifacts from museums, archives, and libraries located in the European Union.
An existensive digitized collection of medieval manuscripts, book covers and illustrations. Search the platform by keyword or title, or browse by a specific type of publication under Genre (such as Manuscripts, Medieval).
Manuscripts and books published between 1473 and 1800 in the British Isles and North America from the collections of the British Library and other partner institutions.
A digital collection of works in English and French published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early twentieth century. The collection includes colonial, provincial and federal government publications, Jesuit relations texts, and an English Canadian literature collection with over 800 works of drama, poetry and fiction, biography and exploration written before 1900.
Fiction and nonfiction titles on many subjects: art, economics, geography, history, literature music, philosophy, and many others,. These books are in the public domain (as their copyright has expired).
A comprehensive research guide to online collections, including both free and subscription-based visual archives.
Other major research resources (reference sources and journal databases) in the field of Book and Printing History and Literature are listed on the University of Toronto Libraries website.
The Oxford Handbook of PublishingThe authors of the chapters in this volume explore social, cultural, economic, historical, and technological aspects of publishing. They also analyze current social issues associated with the industry.
Chapters that are especially applicable to the subject matter of the modules include:
The Cambridge Companion to the History of the BookA comprehensive account of the history of the book and its ways of thinking about works from ancient inscription to contemporary e-books, discussing thematic, chronological and methodological aspects of this interdisciplinary field from early writing, through manuscript and early printing, to the institution of a mechanized book trade, and on to the globalization of publishing and the introduction of the electronic book.
Lead image: Saint Augustine, La Cité de Dieu, c. 1450. Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg, ms. 523, fol. 230r.