Conducting Research in Renaissance Studies

The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
An online dictionary that you can consult for concise, authoritative definitions of unfamiliar names and terms associated with the history of the Renaissance.

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation
The encyclopedia includes entries detailing all the main centers of European civilization between the fourteenth and seventeenth centuries, with strong coverage of literature and the arts.

It is a great place to begin your research and develop background knowledge of a particular historical figure, primary source, or event. Each entry has an extensive bibliography with recommended resources for further reading and potential sources for your essay.

Oxford Bibliographies: Reformation and Renaissance
A bibliography is a list of the books of an author or publisher, or on a specific subject. Oxford Bibliographies, compiled by scholars and librarians, contain extensive lists of annotated titles on many topics within the study of the Renaissance. It is a great way to find authoritative sources that are recognized as influential within the discipline.

Each subject contains an extensive introduction (which provides an overview of the topic) as well as a list of annotated titles of books, arranged by category.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
A current and comprehensive bibliography of scholarly research in the study of the Renaissance and the Middle Ages. It is a great place to search for books, essays, reviews, and articles when doing more in-depth research.

The database was created in partnership with the Centre for Renaissance and Reformation Studies.

The Library Catalogue
Find books by title, by particular author, or a specific subject. It lists books and other sources available at all U of T libraries. You can also search by using keywords.

Additional Resources in Renaissance Studies
Other major research resources (journal databases and primary source collections) in the field of Renaissance studies are listed on the University of Toronto Libraries web site.

Additional Resources in Related Disciplines

Major research resources in related disciplines may also lead you to find relevant book chapters and journal articles: English Literature and Philosophy.

Citation & Style Guides

Chicago

A new, updated edition of the manual was released in September 2017.

• online manual

MLA (Modern Language Association)

A new, updated edition of the manual was released in 2016.

• print: PN147 .G53 2016 (also available in the stacks on the ground floor of the library).

Research & Writing Support

Research Help

Please contact me to schedule a research consultation:
Agatha Barc, Librarian, E.J. Pratt Library, agatha.barc@vicu.utoronto.ca

Writing Help

Please book an appointment at the Victoria College Writing Centre.

Seminar Materials

• presentation slides.