Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

SMC355H1: Celtic Cinema

SMC355H1: Celtic Cinema - Customized Resources



The Ambassador Cinema, Dublin. Photo by William Murphy. Gratefully adapted with a CC license from Wikimedia.


Open this guide in a new tab.


Ebooks


This title is available through the Hathitrust Digital Library. To access the book, click the yellow button in the top-right corner, select University of Toronto from the drop-down list, and login with your UTORID and password.

Cinema and Ireland. By Kevin Rockett, Luke Gibbons, and John Hill. Routledge, 2014.

This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.

Film: A Very Short Introduction. By Michael Wood. Oxford University Press, 2013.

Genre and Cinema: Ireland and Transnationalism. Edited by Brian McIlroy. Routledge, c2007.

The History of Cinema: A Very Short Introduction. By Geoffrey Nowell-Smith. Oxford University Press, 2017.

Ireland and Cinema: Culture and Contexts. Edited by Barry Monahan. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, [2015].

Irish National Cinema. By Ruth Barton. Routledge, 2004.

Men and Masculinities in Irish Cinema. By Debbie Ging. Palgrave Macmillan, 2013.

This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.

Scotland: Global Cinema -- Genres, Modes, and Identities. By David Martin-Jones. Edinburgh University Press, c2009.

Screening Modern Irish Fiction and Drama. Edited by R. Barton Palmer and Marc C. Conner. Springer, 2016.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Celtic Cinema

Irish Cinema. Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, [2013-].

Britsh Cinema. Oxford Bibliographies. Oxford University Press, [2013-].

A Companion to British and Irish Cinema. Edited by John Hill. Wiley-Blackwell, [2019].

This title is available to only one user at a time. If you can't access the book, try again later.

Film

Like other good encyclopedias, Oxford Bibliographies offer thorough overviews, but their strength lies in the lengthy annotated bibliographies that follow. This source is an excellent place to begin your research in Irish Cinema.

Encyclopedia of International Media & Communications

International Dictionary of Broadcasting & Film

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film

Celtic Culture & History

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford University Press, 2004.

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

Oxford Companion to Irish History

Oxford Companion to Scottish History

Routledge Handbook of British Politics and Society

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.

Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History - A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia

Article Databases


Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Databases

Film & Television Literature Index

Film Index International

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Selected Film Journals

Journal of Popular Film & Television

Intellect Cinema Journals - List from Kate Johnson, Innis College Library

Newspapers

Irish Times, 1921-present

Catalogue Search


 



Everything Search

Advanced Search

Sample Concept Map