Skip to main content John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

SMC346H1: Celtic Folklore

SMC346H1: Celtic Folklore - Customized Resources



Loch Ness, Scotland. Image by grantynick gratefully adapted from Pixabay.

Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases


Search Summon

Known as Summon, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, Summon finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, Summon can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Looking for articles, books or essays? This article database, covering from 1920 to the present, is one of the most important resources available. Packed with more than 840,000 records, ABELL refers you to journal articles, books, essay collections, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations. Another advantage is scope. Covering American, British and Commonwealth literature, as well as some material in languages besides English, ABELL is one of the two key indices for literature students--the other is the MLA International Bibliography.

Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)

JSTOR

Palmer's Index to the Times

Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

Catalogue Search


Ebooks


Newer

The Gaelic vision in Scottish culture. By Malcolm Chapman. Croon Helm, 1978.

Scottish Tradition: A Collection of Scottish Folk Literature. Edited by David Buchan. London: Routledge, 2015.

The Celts: Bronze Age to New Age, By John Haywood

The Celts: Bronze Age to New Age, By John Haywood

The Celts: A Very Short Introduction, by Barry Cunliffe.

The Celtic Dragon Myth, by J.F. Campbell. London: Routledge, 2013.

Rocks of Nation: The Imagination of Celtic Cornwall, by Shelley Trower. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2015.

Celtic Myth in Contemporary Children's Fantasy: Idealization, Identity, Ideology, by Dimitra Fimi. London: Palgrave Macmillan / Springer, 2017.

Postmodern Fairy Tales: Gender and Narrative Strategies, by Cristina Bacchilega. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1997.

Gaelic Scotland in the Colonial Imagination: Anglophone Writing from 1600 to 1900, by Silke Stroh

Internal Colonialism: The Celtic Fringe in British National Development, by Michael Hechter

Older

Cornish Feasts and Folk-Lore, by M.A. Countney. Penzance: Beare and Son, 1890.

John Francis Campbell (ed.),Popular Tales of the West Highlands, Orally Collected, with a Translation. 1860-1892. Vol. 1 Vol. 2 Vol. 3

John Gregorson Campbell (ed.),Superstitions of the Highlands and Islands of Scotland, Collected entirely from Oral Sources.. 1900.

Alexander Carmichael, Carmina Gadelica. 1928,1940. Vol. 1 Vol. 2 Vol. 3

Jeremiah Curtin (ed.), Hero-Tales of Ireland . 1894.

Edward Gwynn (ed. and trans.), The Metrical Dindshenchas. 1906, 1991. Vol. 1 Vol. 2 Vol. 3 Vol. 4

Robert Kirk, The Secret Commonwealth of Elves, Fauns, and Fairies: A Study in Folk-Lore and Psychical Research . 1893.

Andrew Lang, Fairy Books. 1889-1892. Blue Red Green

J.G. McKay (ed.), Gille a’ Bhuidseir / The Wizard’s Gillie, and Other Tales. 1914.

James Macpherson, Ossian Poems / Ossian Online. 1760-1773 [poems]; 2020 [website].

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford Oxford University Press, 2004.

Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music and Art. Edited by Thomas A. Green. ABC-CLIO, 1997.

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

Oxford Companion to Irish History

Routledge Handbook of British Politics and Society

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.

This series provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. Works by anonymous authors (e.g. Táin Bó Cúailnge) are listed in the title section. Most essays are available online in Literature Criticism Online, a database comprising 10 print series and consisting of more than 250 volumes compiled over the past 30 years. Using this online collection, you can search individual series titles (e.g. Contemporary Literature Criticism) all together, in a selected combination, or individually. You can find articles on such topics as Irish nationalism in literature, the Irish novel, and the Irish literary renaissance. Arranged alphabetically, the entries provide in-depth critical essays on an author’s work, along with biographical facts, a list of major works, and related sources. Usually, the essays give an overview of a writer’s work or themes.

Oxford Companion to Scottish History. Edited by Michael Lynch. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.

Academic Resources


Literary Theory

A general introduction to the subject from the Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy.

Research Guides

Research Guide to Celtic Studies

Research Guide to Irish History

UofT E-Resources for Celtic Studies

Journals

Béaloideas

The journal of the Folklore of Ireland Society.

Dinnseanchas

Includes logainm.ie’s publications, including the full archive of Dinnseanchas, a journal of toponymy published in Irish and English between 1964 and 1977. Logainm.ie is a sister project to dúchas.ie, dealing with place-names in Ireland.

Folklore Archives & Other Sources


Chiollagh Books

A publisher which produces free digital re-editions of books on Manx folklore, traditions, and culture.

dúchas.ie

A project devoted to digitizing the National Folklore Collection of Ireland.

Tobar an Dualchais / Kist o Riches

A free archive of recordings of oral material primarily from Scotland, in English, Gaelic, and Scots.

Problems, Questions, & Thesis Statements


Thesis Statement Practice


Article Critique Practice