Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

SMC226H1: King Arthur

"

SMC226H1: King Arthur - Customized Resources


Miniature of Arthur and Guinevere seated at a banquet table surrounded by vassals, with Lancelot kneeling before them, requesting permission to leave the court. Royal MS 14 E III, f. 89, ca. 1320. Adapted with a PD license from the British Library.


Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases


Search Summon

Known as Summon, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, Summon finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, Summon can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Advanced Search

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Catalogue Search


 



Advanced Search

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

 

New Arthurian Encyclopedia

Arthurian Name Dictionary

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

Dictionary of Celtic Mythology

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages