This guide aims to help students navigate the information tools and resources needed to complete course requirements for ESS222 Petrology, the study of the origin and classification of igneous, sedimentary and metamorphic rocks and their associated ore deposits.
|Databases and Journals|
|Required and Supplementary Texts|
|Quick Reference Resources|
This guide was created by Brenna Farquharson
Presents papers on the physics and chemistry of rocks, experimental petrology and mineralogy, rock-forming minerals and their paragenesis, microstructure of rocks, and isotope geochemistry and geochronology as applied to problems of petrogenesis.
Covers a diverse range of topics in the fields of field of mineralogy, petrology and geochemistry.
Includes peer reviewed publications on a range of multidisciplinary aspects of theoretical, experimental, and applied petrology.
A multidisciplinary database containing research in various fields of earth sciences including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Petrology : igneous, sedimentary, and metamorphic, 3rd Edition by Harvey Blatt, Robert J. Tracy, Brent E. Owens.
Available on Course Reserves at the Earth Science Library: CQE431.2 .B57 2006
Introduction to Optical Mineralogy, 3rd Edition by William D. Nesse
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE397 .N47 2004
Rock-Forming Minerals by W. A. Deer, R. A. Howie, J. Zussman
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE397 .D38 2001 (V.1A, V.1B, V.2A, V.2B)
Optical Mineralogy by Paul F. Kerr
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE367 .K4 1959
A Color Atlas of Rocks and Minerals in Thin Section by W.S. MacKenzie and A.E. Adams.
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE434 .M33 1994
Atlas of Rock-Forming Minerals in Thin Section by W. S. MacKenzie and C. Guilford.
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE363.8 .M32
Atlas of Metamorphic Rocks and their Textures by B.W.D. Yardley, W.S. MacKenzie, and C. Guilford.
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE475 .A2 Y35 1990
The Encyclopedia of Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology. Edited by D.R. Bowes
The Encyclopedia of Rocks and Minerals. Edited by Nicola Cipriani
Dictionary of Petrology by S.I. Tomkieieff ; edited by E.K. Walton ... [et al.].
Available at the Earth Science Library in the Reference section: QE423 .T65 1983
Larousse Field Guide to the Rocks & Minerals of the World by David Cook and Wendy Kirk
Available at the Earth Science Library in the Reference section: QE425.4 .C65 1998
Handbook of Rocks, Minerals & Gemstones by Walter Schumann
Available at the Earth Science Library in the Reference or Stacks sections: QE433.8 .S3813 1993
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE461 .M46 2007X
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE461 .B535 2001
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE522 .S295 2004X
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE471 .C44
Available at the Earth Science Library: QE461 .M497 2007
Studying for an upcoming exam?
Here are some tips to help you study for upcoming tests or exams:
Academic Success Resources:
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.