Cinema and Media Studies (Oxford Bibliographies Online, 2011+) "...a carefully organized, thoroughly peer-reviewed account of the most important books, articles, and Web sites. With frequent updates..."
Note: In some cases, you can connect to the resources or the item record through the UTL Website, but direct access to the books & journal articles included within the bibliographies listed above may vary (e.g., print materials, not available at UofT); check LibrarySearch (by title) for local availability.
Contact the Cinema Studies Librarian Kate Johnson with any questions.
Italian Cinema: A Bibliography of Books and Articles in the UC Berkeley Libraries (These bibliographies were archived on August 2018)
On individual directors and their films:
|
Individuals, directors, actors, etc. (Search as above; use last name, first name)
Use Quotations to search for a specific phrase or title
Select Author instead of Subject, to find books written by the specific author (use last name, first name)
|
This section includes a selection of books and ebooks for Italian Cinema. Additional records can be searched and accessed using LibrarySearch, please visit our Cinema Studies Guide for additional tips and information.
Italian Film by 
Italian National Cinema by 
Popular Italian Cinema by 
Italian Cinema: From the Silent Screen to the Digital Image by 
Directory of World Cinema by 
Italian Neorealist Cinema by 
Italian Cinema : Gender and Genre by For a complete list of Article resources and search tips, the links below will redirect you to the relevant Cinema Studies Guide pages.
List of Cinema Studies eJournals (UTORid and some Open Access)
Follow this link Search within Newspapers and enter your keyword search terms in the search bar.
NOTE: Newspaper results are excluded form the default LibrarySearch results page.
To see Newspaper results click the 'Newspapers Search' hyperlink listed at the bottom of the Format filter on the left sidebar of results page.
L'Emeroteca Digitale, Biblioteca Nazionale Braidense
"A primary source is a document that was created at the time of the event or subject you've chosen to study, or by people who were observers of, or participants in that event or topic."
~ E.H. Brown, “Writing about History” UofT Writing Advice
Primary source materials include Text (film reviews, advertisements, business documents, personal records or diaries, press kits, scripts), Recordings (interviews, radio shows, film footage) & Objects (images, storyboards, costumes, musical scores) created in that time period.
The following list contains Primary Source and Archival resources in both English and Italian languages, indicated below the link.
A growing number of online video resources is now offered by UofT Libraries, available for classroom and individual streaming when logged in with your UTORid. Individual title records are available in the UofT Catalogue through LibrarySearch.
Streamable Film Collections via UofT Libraries (UTORid required)
Freely Available Online Video Resources (Open Access/Freely Available) - Scroll to the bottom of the page for the list.
Cinema Studies - Watch Films (Streaming & Physical media)
Visit the UofT Cinema Studies Guide to learn more about finding and accessing physical media collections and viewing facilities.
Media Commons (MC) Media Archives contains different film formats, personal & business documents, images & more with a focus on film / video production, advertising, electronic & print journalism, broadcasting, photographic arts, & multimedia / music production. Several collections have special focus on Canadian media & popular culture.
Film Reviews can be found in the Article databases and journals in the Articles section of this guide.
For a complete list of Film Review resources and search tips, the link below will redirect you to the relevant Cinema Studies Guide page.
Film Reviews can also be found by looking directly in Newspapers from the nation. The link below will redirect you to the UTL Newspapers Guide and provides instructions for navigating our newspaper databases using LibrarySearch.
Twitter
YouTube
Instagram