Skip to main content

MUS7406: Music Psychology

This LibGuide supports the research needs of students enrolled in MUS7406: Music Psychology.

Resources to Support Music Psychology

There are a number of great sources to help you get started on your topic or for exploring music psychology in general. Here is short, curated list of some of the resources most directly relevant to your subject area and available online through the University of Toronto Libraries.

Handbooks

Colwell, R., ed. (2006). MENC handbook of musical cognition and development. New York: Oxford University Press.
  • Addresses fundamental questions about musical preference, ability, and communication in the fields of Musical Cognition and Development to help understand how music is processed and learned. Includes theoretical and practical techniques.
Hallam, S., I. Cross, & M. Thaut, eds. (2016). The Oxford handbook of music psychology.  2nd ed. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 
  • Provides a comprehensive review of the latest developments in the field, covering experimental and theoretical perspectives.
Juslin, P.N., & J. Sloboda, eds. (2011). Handbook of music and emotion: theory, research, applications. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  • Provides a comprehensive coverage of the many approaches related to the field of music and emotion, including multidisciplinary perspectives, methodologies for measuring emotions, how emotion enters into different aspects of musical behaviour, and applications involving the relationship between music and emotion.

Encyclopaedias

  • Contains articles on cognitive theory, analyses, computers, cryptography, perception, and more.
  • A reference source on psychology and behavioural science.
  • A reference source for applications of psychological knowledge and procedures in psychology.
  • Broad coverage of terms and concepts used in the sciences of learning and related fields, including instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering.

Dictionaries

  • Surveys the discipline from an international, cross-cultural focus, including entries related to culture as well as all domains of psychology.
  • Covers all branches of psychology, as well as cognition, sensation, perception, emotion, motivation, and more.
  • A reference book intended for students in related fields, covering key terminology and pioneers in psychology, and recent developments.
  • Discusses concepts such as language, memory, intelligence, alongside social effects and principles.
  • Includes an overview of 200 concepts central to understanding practical applications of psychology, including the latest recommendations from the British Psychology Society, including education, gender, psychometrics, and perception.

Journal/Database Resources

PsycINFO

  • The major index to all branches of psychology and its related disciplines, including retrospective coverage back to the 16th century.

JSTOR  

  • JSTOR includes scholarship published in more than 2000 of high quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

RILM Abstracts of music literature

  • Known as a music-specific database, RILM abstracts coverage overlaps with music therapy and music psychology fields.

Scopus

  • Advertises themselves as the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Web of science

  • Includes the Web of Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Search Tips

HINT:   Search "Music" AND another subject term/phrase, such as:

Music AND Perception
Music AND Creativity
Music AND "Musical Ability"
"Music Education" AND Curriculum
Music AND Pitch
Music AND Rhythm
Music AND "Performance anxiety"

 

HINT:  Take advantage of the highly detailed subject descriptions. Search broad general subject keywords of psychological concepts such as:

Psychology
Aesthetics
Emotions
Cognition
Communication

These terms survey a wide range of issues and subtopics, from which you can investigate and then narrow your research. Looking for terms such as these in the dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks listed above should yield fruitful results.