Research guides: MUI1020HF: Civic Engagement and Economic Development: JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES

RESEARCH TIP

Knowing HOW to search is just as important as knowing WHERE to search.

To get BETTER results FASTER from your research, please review this tip sheet from UBC's David Lam Management Library.

SSRN

SSRN is a repository of "early stage research" - working papers, pre-prints and conference proceedings. While not peer-reviewed per se, a significant percentage of the content found here is intended for publication in a peer-reviewed journal or other scholarly source. This source could also be considered grey literature.

Full-text may not be available in all instances. Try using the Library's e-journals or a Web search to find the paper in this instance. Optional free accounts are available.

SSRN

JOURNAL ARTICLE DATABASES

Use these databases to find journal articles.

Most but not all of these articles will be from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals.

Not sure if the journal is peer-reviewed? Use Ulrichsweb to check the peer review status of any journal.

Looking for articles from newspapers and other media sources? Use this page from the Urban Innovation @ UTM research guide to identify appropriate databases.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A major index to journals in political science and related fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.

Google Scholar
Offers broad coverage of the journal literature. However, it does not offer an easy way to filter for peer reviewed articles. Watch this video to learn how to sync Google Scholar with UTL's journal holdings for seamless full-text article access.

Web of Science: Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A major multi-disciplinary collection of journals that offers coverage back to 1900. Journals are selected based on quality and impact. Excellent for topics that cross disciplines.

Scopus
Another major multidisciplinary database. Covers 21,000+ sources from science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus also allows you to create alerts that will notify you when an article or an author is cited. A free individual Elsevier account is required to create an alert.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2200+ management and business academic and trade & industry journals, with most articles in full-text. Business Source Premier is the only library database that includes the full-text and PDF versions of articles from Harvard Business Review.
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of the management literature, including scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, SSRN working papers, business cases and news.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
The major index or database for economics research. International in coverage and includes book chapters, working papers, and other materials as well as articles. Useful for targeting topics with an economics aspect.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of journal articles on architecture and design. Covers city planning and historic preservation as well as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, and interior design and decoration.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines, focusing on the human and social impacts on both. Hosted on Elsevier's Engineering Village platform.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.

JSTOR Sustainability Collection
A collection of journals, e-books, and research reports in the field of sustainability. Topics covered include green buildings, land use policy, sustainable cities, sustainable urban infrastructure, transportation planning, and urban development. Content available includes 100+ journals from over 20 disciplines, over 5000+ research reports from 30+ leading think tanks around the world. Also included are open access journals and e-books.

Learn more about JSTOR Sustainability Collection here.