North clerestory window, All Saints Church, Kingston-Upon-Thames, England. Photo by Andy Scott gratefully adapted with a CC license from Wikimedia.
Bartlett, Robert. Why Can the Dead Do Such Great Things? Saints and Worshippers from the Martyrs to the Reformation. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2013.
Linehan, Peter, Marios Costambeys, and Janet L. Nelson, Eds. The Medieval World.Milton Park, Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2018.
Yarrow, Simon. Saints: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.
Augustine, Saint. Select Letters. Translated by James Houston Baxter. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1930.
Burton, Geoffrey of. Life and Miracles of St Modwenna. Edited and Translated by Robert Bartlett. Oxford University Press, 2002.
de Voragine, Jacobus. The Golden Legend: Readings on the Saints. Translated by Ryan William Granger with an introduction by Eamon Duffy. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2012.
Head, Thomas, Ed. Medieval Hagiography: An Anthology. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2001.
Jerome, Saint. Select Letters. Translated by F. A. Wright. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1933.
Malmesbury, William of. Saints’ Lives: Lives of SS. Wulfstan, Dunstan, Patrick, Benignus and Indract. Edited by Michael Winterbottom, and Rodney M. Thomson. Oxford University Press, 2002.
Coello de la Rosa, Alexandre, and Linda Gale Jones, Eds. Saints and Sanctity in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam: Striving for Remembrance. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2020.
Coombe, Margaret, Anne Mouron, and Christiania Whitehead, Eds. Saints of North-East England, 600-1500. Turnhout, Belgium: Brepols, 2017.
Peterson, Janine Larmon. Suspect Saints and Holy Heretics: Disputed Sanctity and Communal Identity in Late Medieval Italy. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2019.
Prudlo, Donald S. Certain Sainthood: Canonization and the Origins of Papal Infallibility in the Medieval Church. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2016.
Turpie, Tom. Kind Neighbours: Scottish Saints and Society in the Later Middle Ages. Vol. 70. Brill, 2015.
Koopmans, Rachel. Wonderful to Relate: Miracle Stories and Miracle Collecting in High Medieval England. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2011.
Krötzl, Christian, and Sari Katajala-Peltomaa, Eds. Miracles in Medieval Canonization Processes: Structures, Functions, and Methodologies. Turnhout, Belgium: Brepols, 2018.
Yarrow, Simon. Saints and Their Communities: Miracle Stories in Twelfth Century England. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 2006.
Vaughn, Sally N. St. Anselm and the Handmaidens of God: A Study of Anselm’s Correspondence with Women. Turnhout, Belgium: Brepols, 2002.
Farmer, Sharon A. Communities of Saint Martin: Legend and Ritual in Medieval Tours. New York (State): Cornell University Press, 2019.
Wills, Gary. Augustine’s “Confessions”: A Biography. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2011.
Grasso, Maria R. Illuminating Sanctity: The Body, Soul and Glorification of Saint Amand in the Miniature Cycle in Valenciennes, Bibliothèque Municipale, MS 500. Leiden: Brill, 2019.
Callan, Maeve. Sacred Sisters: Gender, Sanctity, and Power in Medieval Ireland. Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press, 2020.
Dalarun, Jacques, Sean L. Field, and Valerio. Cappozzo. A Female Apostle in Medieval Italy: The Life of Clare of Rimini. . Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2022.
Homza, Martin. Mulieres Suadentes - Persuasive Women: Female Royal Saints in Medieval East Central and Eastern Europe. Boston: BRILL, 2017.
Sanok, Catherine. Her Life Historical: Exemplarity and Female Saints’ Lives in Late Medieval England. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2007.
Winstead, Karen A. Virgin Martyrs: Legends of Sainthood in Late Medieval England. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2018.
Brand, Benjamin David. Holy Treasure and Sacred Song: Relic Cults and Their Liturgies in Medieval Tuscany. New York: Oxford University Press, 2014.
Smith, Kyle. Cult of the Dead: A Brief History of Christianity. . Berkeley: University of California Press, 2022.
Hammond, Jay, Wayne Hellmann, and Jared Goff. A Companion to Bonaventure. Vol. 48. Leiden: BRILL, 2014.
Aaij, Michel, and Shannon Godlove. A Companion to Boniface. Leiden: BRILL, 2020.
Stoudt, Debra, George Ferzoco, and Beverly Kienzle. A Companion to Hildegard of Bingen. Vol. 45. Leiden: BRILL, 2014.
Murray, Alexander C. A Companion to Gregory of Tours. Vol. 63. Leiden: BRILL, 2016.
The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.
Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.
Including more than 5,000 signed articles ranging in length from 100 to 10,000 words, this 13-volume set is the major scholarly encyclopedia for medieval studies and is intended for all levels, from the high school student to the scholar. All volumes are available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.
This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.
Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.
In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.