Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

MST323H: Mediaeval Latin Prose

MST323H: Mediaeval Latin Prose - Customized Resources


Image Source: Arundel 383, f. 279, by Boethius, Aristotle, and others. From the British Library, 13th Century. In Latin and Gothic script. .

Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Looking for articles, books or essays? This article database, covering from 1920 to the present, is one of the most important resources available. Packed with more than 840,000 records, ABELL refers you to journal articles, books, essay collections, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations. Another advantage is scope. Covering American, British and Commonwealth literature, as well as some material in languages besides English, ABELL is one of the two key indices for literature students--the other is the MLA International Bibliography.

Catalogue Search


 



Advanced Search

Other Key Resources


EBooks

Bestul, Thomas H. Texts of the Passion: Latin Devotional Literature and Medieval Society. University of Pennsylvania Press, Inc, 2015.

Curtius, Ernst Robert. European Literature and the Latin Middle Ages. Vol. XXXVI. Princeton University Press, 2013. https://doi.org/10.1515/9781400846153.

Larrington, Carolyne. Women and Writing in Medieval Europe: A Sourcebook. 1st ed. London: Routledge, 1995. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203358245.

More, Alison. Fictive Orders and Feminine Religious Identities, 1200-1600. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.

Pasnau, Robert, and Christina Van Dyke, Eds. The Cambridge History of Medieval Philosophy. Volume 1. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2010.

Treharne, Elaine. Medieval Literature: A Very Short Introduction. Vol. 442. Oxford University Press, 2015.

Van Liere, Frans. An Introduction to the Medieval Bible. West Nyack: Cambridge University Press, 2014. https://doi.org/10.1017/CBO9780511843051.

Primary Sources

Medieval Family Life

Medieval Travel Writing

Internet Medieval Sourcebook

Palaeography

Palaeography Tutorial - UK National Archives

Research Guides

Research Guide to Medieval Studies

Research Guide to Women in the Middle Ages

Research Guide to Medieval Law

UofT E-Resources for Medieval Studies

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Latin Dictionaries

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: Latin-English (3 ed.)

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: English-Latin (3 ed.)

Latin Literature

Earlier Latin Manuscripts - National University of Ireland, Galway

The Oxford Book of Medieval Latin Verse. Edited by F.J.E. Raby. [Oxford]: Oxford University Press, 2019.

The Oxford Handbook of Early Christian Biblical Interpretation. Edited by Paul M. Blowers and Peter W. Martens. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2019.

The Cambridge Companion to the Latin Love Elegy. Edited by Thea S. Thorsen. Cambridge; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2013.

A Companion to Late Antique Literature. Edited by Scott McGill and Edward J Watts. Newark: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated, 2018.

Gospel of Nicodemus - Gesta Salvatoris. Edited by Hack C. Kim. Toronto : Pontifical Institute of Mediaeval Studies, 1973.

The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Latin literature. Edited by Ralph J. Hexter and David Townsend. Oxford; New York: Oxford University Press, 2012.

Ancient Greece & Rome

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization (1 ed.)

Who's Who in Classical Mythology

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World

Oxford Classical Dictionary (4 ed.)

Brill's New Pauly

Middle Ages

Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia

Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.

Including more than 5,000 signed articles ranging in length from 100 to 10,000 words, this 13-volume set is the major scholarly encyclopedia for medieval studies and is intended for all levels, from the high school student to the scholar. All volumes are available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

V1, AAC-AUG
V2, AUG-BYZ
V3, CAB-CRI
V4, CRO-FAM
V5, FAM-GRO
V6, GRO-ITA
V7, ITA-MAB
V8, MAC-MYS
V9, MYS-POL
V10, POL-SCA
V11, SCA-TEX
V12, THA-ZWA
V13, Index
Supplement 1.

The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.

This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.

Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.

In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia

The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).

Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs

Focused on the crusading movement from roughly 1095 and 1291, this 4-volume set covers such topics as persons (Saladin), families and dynasties (Embriaci Family), anonymous literary works (Melisende Psalter), places and countries (Tripoli, City of), events (Ankara, Battle of (1402), and general subjects (Crusades against Christians). With individual bibliographies for each entry as well as a lengthy general bibliography, and with a substantial index in the final volume as well as some primary texts, this encyclopedia should prove useful for students studying the Crusades.