Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

MST234H1: Women's Lives in Mediaeval Europe - Customized Resources

MST234H1: Women's Lives in Mediaeval Europe - Customized Resources




Women spinning. From BL Harley 4375 folio 179, ca. 1475, public domain. Adapted from the British Library.

Open this guide in a new tab.


Ebooks


Blamires, Alcuin. The Case for Women in Medieval Culture. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998. https://doi.org/10.1093/acprof:oso/9780198186304.001.0001.

Bodden, M. C. Language as the Site of Revolt in Medieval and Early Modern England: Speaking as a Woman. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011. https://doi.org/10.1057/9780230337657.

Bolton, Brenda., and Susan Mosher Stuard. Women in Medieval Society. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1976. https://doi.org/10.9783/9780812207675.

Bradbury, Nancy, and Jennifer Adams. Medieval Women and Their Objects. Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Press, 2016. https://doi.org/10.3998/mpub.9222733.

Bynum, Caroline Walker. Holy Feast and Holy Fast: the Religious Significance of Food to Medieval Women. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1987. https://doi.org/10.1525/j.ctt1pnb06.

Craig, Leigh Ann. Wandering Women and Holy Matrons: Women As Pilgrims in the Later Middle Ages. Vol. 138. Boston: Brill, 2009.

Dronke, Peter. Women Writers of the Middle Ages a Critical Study of Texts from Perpetua (+203) to Marguerite Porete (+1310). Cambridge [England: Cambridge University Press, 1984.

Earenfight, T. Women and Wealth in Late Medieval Europe. New York: Palgrave Macmillan US, 2010.

Grossman, Avraham. Pious and Rebellious: Jewish Women in Medieval Europe. Brandeis University Press, 2012. https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctv102bdjz.

Harris, Barbara J. English Aristocratic Women and the Fabric of Piety, 1450-1550. Amsterdam University Press, 2018.

Howell, Martha C. Women, Production, and Patriarchy in Late Medieval Cities. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986.

Jordan, Erin L. Women, Power, and Religious Patronage in the Middle Ages. New York: Palgrave Macmillan US, 2006. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-1-349-73344-6.

Karras, Ruth Mazo. Common Women: Prostitution and Sexuality in Medieval England. New York: Oxford University Press, Incorporated, 1996.

Karras, Ruth Mazo. Unmarriages: Women, Men, and Sexual Unions in the Middle Ages. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, Inc, 2012.

Kerby-Fulton, Kathryn, Katie Ann-Marie Katie Ann-Marie Bugyis, John Van Engen, Ruth Karras, Asma Afsaruddin, S. J Pearce, Adrienne Williams Boyarin, David Wallace, Sean L Field, and F. Thomas Luongo. Women Intellectuals and Leaders in the Middle Ages. Martlesham: Boydell & Brewer, 2020. https://doi.org/10.2307/j.ctvxhrkgq.

Larrington, Carolyne. Women and Writing in Medieval Europe: A Sourcebook. 1st ed. London: Routledge, 1995. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203358245.

L’Estrange, Elizabeth., and Alison More. Representing Medieval Genders and Sexualities in Europe : Construction, Transformation, and Subversion, 600-1530. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2016. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315605470.

Matter, E. Ann, and John Coakley.Creative Women in Medieval and Early Modern Italy: A Religious and Artistic Renaissance. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 1994.

Miller, Sarah Alison. Medieval Monstrosity and the Female Body. 1st ed. Vol. 8. London: Routledge, 2010. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203844915.

Mitchell, Linda E. Women in Medieval Western European Culture. Vol. 2007. London: Routledge, 1999. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203054871.

More, Alison. Fictive Orders and Feminine Religious Identities, 1200-1600. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.

Morrison, Susan S. Women Pilgrims in Late Medieval England: Private Piety as Public Performance. Routledge, 2002.

Mulder-Bakker, Anneke B., and Jocelyn Wogan-Browne. Household, Women, and Christianities in Late Antiquity and the Middle Ages. Turnhout, Belgium: Brepols, 2005.

Phillips, Kim M. Medieval Maidens: Young Women and Gender in England, 1270-1540. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003.

Seabourne, Gwen. Imprisoning Medieval Women: The Non-Judicial Confinement and Abduction of Women in England, c.1170-1509. Taylor and Francis, 2016. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315588025.

Shulamith Shahar. The Fourth Estate: A History of Women in the Middle Ages. Taylor and Francis, 2003. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203426395.

Stuard, Susan Mosher. Women in Medieval History and Historiography. University of Pennsylvania Press, Inc, 2016.

Tanner, Heather J. Medieval Elite Women and the Exercise of Power, 1100–1400 Moving Beyond the Exceptionalist Debate. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2019. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-01346-2.

Van-Houts, Elisabeth. Medieval Memories: Men, Women and the Past, 700-1300. Taylor and Francis, 2013. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315839097.

Ward, Jennifer. Women in Medieval Europe 1200-1500. London: Taylor and Francis, 2016. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315629803.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Women

Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia

Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe

Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History

Middle Ages - General

Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.

Including more than 5,000 signed articles ranging in length from 100 to 10,000 words, this 13-volume set is the major scholarly encyclopedia for medieval studies and is intended for all levels, from the high school student to the scholar. All volumes are available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

V1, AAC-AUG
V2, AUG-BYZ
V3, CAB-CRI
V4, CRO-FAM
V5, FAM-GRO
V6, GRO-ITA
V7, ITA-MAB
V8, MAC-MYS
V9, MYS-POL
V10, POL-SCA
V11, SCA-TEX
V12, THA-ZWA
V13, Index
Supplement 1.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Medieval Celtic World

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

Dictionary of Celtic Mythology

New Arthurian Encyclopedia

Middle Ages - By Topic

A Companion to Medieval Art Romanesque and Gothic in Northern Europe

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia

This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.

Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs

In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.

Christianity

Witty, F. J. "Prayer Books." New Catholic Encyclopedia. 2003.

Butler, Alban. The Lives of the Fathers, Martyrs, and Other Principal Saints, Compiled from Original Monuments, and Other Authentic Records. 1903.

The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church

Research Guides

Research Guide to Women in the Middle Ages

Research Guide to Medieval Studies

Research Guide to Medieval Law

UofT E-Resources for Medieval Studies

Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Gender Studies Database

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Catalogue Search


 



Advanced Search