Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

MST231H1: On the Move in Mediaeval Eurasia - Customized Resources

MST231H1: On the Move in Medieval Eurasia - Customized Resources




Map of Europe and Asia - Charta Rogeriana, by Idrīsī, ca. 1154, public domain. Adapted from the Library of Congress.

Open this guide in a new tab.


E-Bibliography


Books & Articles

Week 1: Introduction to Travel in Medieval Eurasia

Romano, John. Medieval Travel and Travelers: A Reader. University of Toronto Press, 2020.

Polo, Marco, and Milton Rugoff. The Travels of Marco Polo. First Signet Classics print. New York, N.Y: Signet Classics, 2004. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203340646.

Ibn Batuta, and H. A. R. Gibb. The Travels of Ibn Battuta, A.D. 1325-1354. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2016. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315552019.

Week 2: Travelling for Knowledge: The Geographer

Collins, R., and A. Goodman. Medieval Spain Culture, Conflict and Coexistence. 1st ed. 2002. London: Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2002. https://doi.org/10.1057/9781403919779.

Abate, Mark T. Convivencia and Medieval Spain: Essays in Honor of Thomas F. Glick. Cham: Springer International Publishing AG, 2018.

Ibn Jubair, William Wright, and M. J. de Goeje. Travels of Ibn Jubayr. Ed. 2, rev. Leyden: Brill, 1907.

Week 4: Travelling for Trade: The Merchant

Beaujard, Philippe. The Worlds of the Indian Ocean: A Global History. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2019. https://doi.org/10.1017/9781108341004.

Week 7: Travelling for Conquest: The Warrior

Biran, Michal. Chinggis Khan. Oxford, England: Oneworld Publications, 2007.

Jackson, Peter. The Mongols and the West : 1221-1410. Chichester, West Sussex: Routledge, 2014.

Jackson, Peter. The Mongols and the Islamic World: From Conquest to Conversion. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press,, 2018. https://doi.org/10.12987/9780300227284.

Week 8: Travelling for Survival: The Refugee

Golden, P. B. “‘I Will Give the People Unto Thee’ : The Činggisid Conquests and Their Aftermath in the Turkic World.” Journal of the Royal Asiatic Society II, no. 1 (2000): 88–88. https://doi.org/10.1017/S1356186300011925.

Week 9: Travelling for Craft: The Artist

Watt, James C. Y., Anne E. Wardwell, and Morris. Rossabi. When Silk Was Gold: Central Asian and Chinese Textiles. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art in cooperation with the Cleveland Museum of Art, 1997.

Komaroff, Linda. Beyond the Legacy of Genghis Khan. Vol. 64. Leiden: Brill, 2006.

Week 10: Travelling for Spirit: The Pilgrim

Goodman, A.E. Margery Kempe: And Her World. Taylor and Francis, 2014. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315839240.

Bynum, Caroline Walker. Fragmentation and Redemption: Essays on Gender and the Human Body in Medieval Religion. New York: Zone Books, 2012.

Whalen, Brett Edward. Pilgrimage in the Middle Ages: A Reader. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2011.

Week 11: Travelling for Faith: The Missionary

Heirman, Ann, and Stephan Peter Bumbacher. The Spread of Buddhism. Boston: BRILL, 2007.

Kapstein, Matthew T. The Tibetan Assimilation of Buddhism: Conversion, Contestation, and Memory. Cary: Oxford University Press, Incorporated, 2000.

Dalton, Jacob. “The Early Development of the Padmasambhava Legend in Tibet: A Study of IOL Tib J 644 and Pelliot Tibétain 307.” Journal of the American Oriental Society 124, no. 4 (2004): 759–72. https://doi.org/10.2307/4132116.

John of Montecorvino et al., “Letters and Reports of Missionary Friars,” in Cathay and the Way Thither, Being a Collection of Medieval Notices of China, translated by Henry Yule (London: Hakluyt Society, 2010): 197–246.

Research Guides

Research Guide to Medieval Studies

Research Guide to Women in the Middle Ages

Research Guide to Medieval Law

UofT E-Resources for Medieval Studies

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present

Travel and Travelers - Medieval Studies - Oxford Bibliographies

The Crusades: An Encyclopedia

Medieval Studies - Oxford Bibliographies

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.

The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).

Volume 1: c. 500 - c. 700
Volume 2: c. 700 - c. 900
Volume 3: c. 900 - c. 1024
Volume 4 - Part I: c. 1024 - c. 1198
Volume 4 - Part II: c. 1024 - c. 1198
Volume 5: c. 1198 - c. 1300
Volume 6: c. 1300 - c. 1415
Volume 7: c. 1415 - c. 1500

Including more than 5,000 signed articles ranging in length from 100 to 10,000 words, this 13-volume set is the major scholarly encyclopedia for medieval studies and is intended for all levels, from the high school student to the scholar. All volumes are available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.

V1, AAC-AUG
V2, AUG-BYZ
V3, CAB-CRI
V4, CRO-FAM
V5, FAM-GRO
V6, GRO-ITA
V7, ITA-MAB
V8, MAC-MYS
V9, MYS-POL
V10, POL-SCA
V11, SCA-TEX
V12, THA-ZWA
V13, Index
Supplement 1.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.

This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.

Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs

A Companion to Medieval Art Romanesque and Gothic in Northern Europe

Butler, Alban. The Lives of the Fathers, Martyrs, and Other Principal Saints, Compiled from Original Monuments, and Other Authentic Records. 1903.

The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church

Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Catalogue Search


 



Advanced Search