Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

CRI 225 - Criminal Law

Welcome

Welcome to the CRI 225 assignment guide.

Below is a brief list of recommended resources which should assist you in finding scholarly articles about your assigned cases. 

Please feel free to contact me should you require any further assistance.

Summon/OneSearch

In the search box below enter the name of the case in quotation marks, e.g., "r. v. feeney", or access Summon from the main library homepage

To narrow your results select Journal Article under Format on the results page (menu on left side of screen)

Quicklaw

Quicklaw is a database of Canadian case law, legislation, commentary, and scholarly analysis

To access:

  • Link to Quicklaw
  • Select Product Sign On (upper right hand corner)
  • From the drop-down menu, select Quicklaw
  • Click Register Later, then Accept

From the Quicklaw homepage choose the Commentary tab (near top of screen)

Access the Sources drop down menu.

Your best options are:

  • Subscribed Commentary
  • All Canadian Legal Journals
  • All Canadian Legal Literature Indexes

Subscribed Commentary and All Canadian Legal Journals include many of the same sources, however each resource also carries some unique titles.

Type the title of the case (e.g., r. v. seaboyer) into the Search terms box and perform your search. No need to use quotation marks to perform a phrase search in Quicklaw

If you get a significant number of hits you may want to limit your results to, e.g., Legal Journals (menu on left of results screen)

EBSCO

EBSCO is a suite of over 60 databases.  For this assignment the most relevant databases are:

  • Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
  • Social Sciences Abstracts

When you enter EBSCO you have the option of searching the entire database or selecting specific databases.

To search, enter the name of the case (e.g., r. v. n.s. - no space between n. and s.) in the first search box.

If you wish to limit to Scholarly sources you can apply that filter either before or after you perform your search.  Post-search filters appear on the left side of the screen.

ProQuest

ProQuest is a suite of 120 databases with strong Canadian and social sciences representation.  It also contains a large dissertations database.

To search, enter the name of the case in quotation marks (e.g., "r. v. lavallee")

To limit to Scholarly Journals use the filter to the left of the results page

To significantly focus your results, go to the Advanced Search screen and from the Anywhere drop down menu to the right of the search box, select Anywhere except full text - ALL.