Skip to main content

Research Guides

CRI210 - Criminal Justice

Summon

  • A mega, omnidisciplinary database that covers a majority of the UT Library's resources
  • Searches the UT Library catalogue (books) and journal databases (articles) from a single search box
  • Relevance ranking algorithm displays most relevant hits at the top
  • Does not cover all databases - most significantly, does not include Criminal Justice Abstracts
  • Access Summon from the main UT library home page

Criminology and Criminal Justice Databases

  • Criminal Justice Abstracts
    • The premier academic criminology database
    • Any thorough search of the literature should include Criminal Justice Abstracts

Related Subject Databases

Criminology is a multidisciplinary field.  Your essay topics also include sociological, and in some cases, legal elements, so you should also be aware of the databases from these subject areas.

Sociology:

Law:

  • Quicklaw - Index to Canadian Legal Literature  & Subscribed Commentary
    • From the LexisNexis homepage, select Product Sign-In (top right of screen), then Quicklaw
    • On the following screen click Register Later, then Accept
    • From the Quicklaw homepage, select Commentary
    • From the Sources drop down menu you can search either Subscribed Commentary or All Canadian Legal Literature Indexes
    • It may be advisable to sample both sources
  • Index to Legal Periodicals and Books

 Visit the main Criminology Research Guide for a more complete list of journal databases and additional sources