Skip to Main ContentJohn M. Kelly Library Research Guides

CLT411H1: Ireland, Race & Empires

Richard Carter

Subject Librarian for Celtic & Medieval Studies

Richard Carter, Library Liaison for Celtic Studies

Please contact me!

richard.carter@utoronto.ca

CLT411H1: Ireland, Race & Empires - Customized Resources



From left to right: Ireland a Nation Irish and Free from The Organization for World Peace (OWP); Ireland passport, by Allan Leonard, gratefully adapted from Flickr with a CC license; George Floyd mural, Belfast by Rossographer, gratefully adapted with a CC license from Geograph; Time for Peace, Time to Go from The Organization for World Peace (OWP).


Open this guide in a new tab.


Key Books


Quick Background

Killeen, Richard. A Short History of Modern Ireland. Dublin: Gill & Macmillan, 2003.

Readings

Chapman, Malcolm. "Chapter 13: The Modern Celts."The Celts: The Construction of a Myth. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1992. pp. 201-265.

James, Simon. "Chapters 3 & 8."The Atlantic Celts: Ancient People or Modern Invention? Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1999. pp. 44-66, 136-144.

Books for the First Essay

Akenson, Donald H. If the Irish Ran the World: Montserrat, 1630-1730. Montreal: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 1997.

Chapman, Malcolm. The Celts: The Construction of a Myth. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1992. ONLY IN PRINT.

Howe, Stephen. Ireland and Empire: Colonial Legacies in Irish History and Culture. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000.

Ignatiev, Noel. How the Irish Became White. New York: Routledge, 2009.

Kenny, Kevin. Peaceable Kingdom Lost: The Paxton Boys and the Destruction of William Penn’s Holy Experiment. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009. ONLY IN PRINT.

McMahon, Cian T. The Global Dimensions of Irish Identity: Race Nation, and the Popular Press, 1840-1880. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2015.

O’Toole, Fintan. White Savage : William Johnson and the Invention of America. London: Faber and faber, 2005.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


Canada

Canadian Encyclopedia

Dictionary of Canadian Biography

Ireland

Oxford Companion to Irish History

Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture

Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish History

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.

A Companion to the Early Middle Ages: Britain and Ireland c.500-1100

Dictionary of British and Irish History

North America

Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: War

Celtic Peoples

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

Postcolonialism & Race

Colonialism: An International Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450

Routledge Companion to Philosophy of Race.

Routledge Companion To Postcolonial Studies

Routledge Handbook of the History of Settler Colonialism

Routledge Handbook of Postcolonial Politics.

E-Bibliography


Ebooks

Akenson, Donald H. If the Irish Ran the World: Montserrat, 1630-1730. Montreal: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 1997.

Bew, Paul. Ireland the Politics of Enmity, 1789-2006. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2009.

Campbell, John Farquharson. The Campbells of Drumaboden, on the River Lyennon, near Rathmelton, County Donegal, North of Ireland. Nashville, Foster & Parkes, 1925.

Dillon, William. Life of John Mitchel. London: K. Paul, Trench, 1888.

Howe, Stephen. Ireland and Empire: Colonial Legacies in Irish History and Culture. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2000.

Ignatiev, Noel. How the Irish Became White. New York: Routledge, 2009. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203473009.

Kenny, Kevin. Ireland and the British Empire. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Killeen, Richard. A Short History of Modern Ireland. Dublin: Gill & Macmillan, 2003.

Mannion, Patrick, and Fearghal McGarry. The Irish Revolution : a Global History. Edited by Patrick Mannion and Fearghal McGarry. New York: New York University Press, 2022.

Mitchel, John, and Patrick. Maume. The Last Conquest of Ireland (perhaps). Dublin: University College Dublin Press, 2005.

Rodgers, N. Ireland, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: 1612-1865. 1st ed. 2007. London: Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2007. https://doi.org/10.1057/9780230625228.

Wilson, David A. Thomas D’Arcy McGee: Volume 1, Passion, Reason, and Politics, 1825-1857. Montreal ;: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2008.

Wilson, David A. United Irishmen, United States: Immigrant Radicals in the Early Republic. Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Press, 2011. https://doi.org/10.7591/9781501711596.

Wilson, David A., and Graeme. Morton. Irish and Scottish Encounters with Indigenous Peoples: Canada, the United States, New Zealand, and Australia. Montréal: McGill-Queen’s University Press, 2013.

Videos

Cunliffe, Barry. Who Were the Celts? YouTube. Shallit Lecture given at Brigham Young University (BYU), March 17, 2008.

Fitzpatrick, Rory. “God's Frontiersmen: The Scots-Irish Epic - Episode 3.” YouTube. Forged in Ulster, n.d. Start at 18’30” and stop at 26’49”.

Katznelson, Ira. How the Irish Became White: Panel Discussion YouTube. Panel discussion at Columbia University, 16 October 2020. Start at 3’, and continue until 12’48”.

McBride, Ian, and Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid, organizers. Decolonising Irish History? A Panel Discussion. YouTube. Conference discussion supported by TORCH (The Oxford Research Centre for the Humanities) and the Department of Foreign Affairs, Ireland, 2 November 2020.

McClean, Tom. “President Andrew Jackson's Ulster Ancestral Home Tour.” YouTube. Positive Belfast, n.d. Start at 6’55” and stop at 10’32”.

Journal Articles

Casey, Natasha. “Beyond the Pale: Irishness and White Supremacy in 1990s America.” Canadian Journal of Irish Studies, vol. 43 (2020), 146-71.

Cave, Alfred. “Abuse of Power: Andrew Jackson and the Indian Removal Act of 1830.” The Historian, vol. 65, no. 6 (Winter 2003), 1330-53 .

Gray, Peter. “Was the Great Irish Famine a Colonial Famine?” East/West: Journal of Ukrainian Studies, VIII, no. 1 (2021), 159-72.

McGowan, Mark G. “The Famine Plot Revisited: A Reassessment of the Great Irish Famine as Genocide.” Genocide Studies International, vol. 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017), 87-104.

Quinn, James. “John Mitchel and the Rejection of the Nineteenth Century.” Éire-Ireland, vol. 38, no. 3 (2003), 90-108.

Reilly, Matthew, and Jerome Handler. “Contesting ‘White Slavery’ in the Caribbean: Enslaved Africans and European Indentured Servants in Seventeenth-Century Barbados.” New West Indian Guide, vol. 91, nos 1 and 2 (2017), 30-55.

Rodgers, Nini. “Equiano in Belfast: A Study of the anti-slavery ethos in a Northern Town.” Slavery & Abolition, vol. 18, no. 2 (August 1997), 73-89.

Rodgers, Nini. “Ireland and the Black Atlantic in the Eighteenth Century.” Irish Historical Studies, vol. 32, no. 126 (2000), 174-92.

Free Web Articles

“Andrew Jackson.” Ulster-Scots Agency, 2022.

“Andrew Jackson Cottage: Places to See | Co. Antrim, Northern Ireland.” VirtualVisitTours, n.d.

Canadian Historical Association. “Canada Day Statement.” June 2021.

Canadian Historical Association. “Recognizing Genocide in Canada.” August 2021.

CBC Ideas. “The ‘Trial’ of Sir John A. Macdonald: Would He be Guilty of War Crimes Today?” April 2018.

CBC Ideas. “The Verdict on Sir John A. Macdonald: Guilty or Innocent?” April 2018.

Corr, Shauna. “Statue of Slavery Supporter John Mitchel.” BelfastLive, 10 June 2020.

Dummitt, Christopher, et al. “Open Letter to the Council of the Canadian Historical Association and the Canadian Public.” christopherdummitt.com, August 2021.

Dummitt, Christopher, and Whitney Lackenbauer. “Debating Genocide in Canada: A Response to Steven High.” History Reclaimed, October 2021.

Finn, Clodagh. “Why do GAA clubs still honour pro-slavery John Mitchel?” Irish Examiner, 13 June 2020.

Hogan, Liam. “Anatomy of a Modern Lie.” Tortoise, 12 May 2019.

Hogan, Liam. “‘Irish Slaves’: The Convenient Myth.” opendemocracy.net, 14 January 2015.

Hogan, Liam. “John Mitchel was Hailed as a Totem for Irish Liberty … But He was a White Supremacist.” thejournal.ie, 2014.

Hogan, Liam. “Two Years of the ‘Irish Slaves’ Myth: Racism, Reductionism and the Tradition of Diminishing the Transatlantic Slave Trade.” opendemocracy.net, 7 November 2016.

Kennedy, Liam. “The White Man’s Burden Reinvented.” History Reclaimed, September 2021.

Laforme, Harry S. “Yes, Genocide.” Literary Review of Canada, October 2019.

Smith, Donald B., and J.R. Miller. “No Genocide.” Literary Review of Canada, October 2019.

Young, Connia. “Council to Establish Responsibility for John Mitchel Statue.” Irish News, 23 June 2020.

Primary Sources

Davin, Nicholas Flood. Report on Industrial Schools for Indians and Half-Breeds. Ottawa, 1879.

Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

Covering the history of the United States and Canada, America History & Life indexes more than 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present.

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.

Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)

JSTOR

Catalogue Search

 
 



Advanced Search