Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

CLT240H1: The Celts in the Ancient and Medieval World

CLT240H1: The Celts in the Ancient and Medieval World - Customized Resources



Standing stones, Ireland. Adapted from Pxhere.

Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Catalogue Search


 



Advanced Search

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries


The Celts

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.

A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford University Press, 2004.

The Arthurian Name Dictionary. By Christopher W. Bruce. Garland, 1999.

Oxford Companion to Irish History

With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.



Middle Ages

Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.

The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).

Volume 1: c. 500 - c. 700
Volume 2: c. 700 - c. 900
Volume 3: c. 900 - c. 1024
Volume 4 - Part I: c. 1024 - c. 1198
Volume 4 - Part II: c. 1024 - c. 1198
Volume 5: c. 1198 - c. 1300
Volume 6: c. 1300 - c. 1415
Volume 7: c. 1415 - c. 1500

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs. ABC-CLIO, 2000.

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia

Religion

The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.

Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church

Literature

This series provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. Works by anonymous authors (e.g. Táin Bó Cúailnge) are listed in the title section. Most essays are available online in Literature Criticism Online, a database comprising 10 print series and consisting of more than 250 volumes compiled over the past 30 years. Using this online collection, you can search individual series titles (e.g. Contemporary Literature Criticism) all together, in a selected combination, or individually. You can find articles on such topics as Irish nationalism in literature, the Irish novel, and the Irish literary renaissance. Arranged alphabetically, the entries provide in-depth critical essays on an author’s work, along with biographical facts, a list of major works, and related sources. Usually, the essays give an overview of a writer’s work or themes.

Primary Sources - Video Introduction