Research Guides: HLTC28: Pick your Poison: Toxicology and Risk Assessment: Find Journal Articles

Recommended Journal Article Databases

The following databases have strong coverage of health and environmental sciences topics:

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary abstract and citation index for peer-reviewed research, including journals, books, and conference papers.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines, focusing on the human and social impacts on both.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Database of scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.

Library Research Skills Tutorials
Six 30-minute modules that introduce students to foundational library skills that will help in many university research assignments. Each module is a stand-alone resource. They can be completed in any order, all at the same time, or individually as needed. Topics include: (1) introduction to UofT Libraries, (2) start your research, (3) select your sources, (4) search tools, (5) search effectively, and (6) evaluate your sources.
Health Database Video Tutorials
Gerstein Library has prepared short video tutorials to help you understand how to search in Medline, Web of Science, and Scopus, as well as other health databases.
Scopus Click-Along Tutorial
Learn the mechanics of searching in Scopus.
PubMed Click-Along Tutorial
Complete this tutorial to learn how to search PubMed. This free database contains over 25 million citations for biomedical literature.