Research Guides: MGT232H5: Business Finance II : Industry Information

Industry Reports

Start with these resources to locate templated reports about Industries.

Remember to consider geography (country or region).
Think about whether your search is for an industry, a larger sector, or a smaller (niche) segment of an industry.

IBISWorld Global Industry Research
Find templated industry reports for Canadian, US, and Global industries and sectors. Browse to the relevant report or search by industry or NAICS code.
Investext
Use Investext to find industry and company reports for specific time periods from analysts and research firms.
Statista
Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets.

EIU Viewpoint
Reports and updates that advise on and forecast business and industry conditions in 189 countries, selected industries, and country-specific credit and operational risk. Also includes special reports on macroeconomic events, country affairs and industry-specific issues. Produced by the Economist Group, which also publishes The Economist magazine.
Canadian Industry Statistics
Canadian Industry Statistics (CIS) analyses industry data on many economic indicators using the most recent data from Statistics Canada. CIS looks at industry trends and financial information, such as GDP, Labour Productivity, Manufacturing and Trade data.

Trade Publications & News

Trade publications are a great source of current industry news and issues, and may provide industry statistics that are difficult to find elsewhere. Look for the source of the data in reports to see if you can access more information.

The following databases have excellent coverage of trade publications.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Comprehensive database containing full‐text journals and business press titles as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports.
Business Source Premier
Full text and citations of business journals, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.
Factiva
Factiva is an excellent source for business news and includes major newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The Wall Street Journal, and the Financial Times as well as industry-specific publications.
Please reach out to your liaison librarian if you need help searching Factiva.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database: Business
Includes articles from Canadian business periodicals, industry and trade journals and newsletters, and other sources.

Industry Associations

Industry associations and trade groups can be an excellent source of industry information. Some make industry statistics and reports available on their websites or through their publications. Note: sometimes there will be a members-only section of these websites that you cannot access.

To find industry associations online, try using search terms like "industry association," "trade organization," "trade association," etc. alongside your chosen industry, e.g. "mining," "metals,".

Associations Canada
Searchable database of 17,000+ Canadian and international associations that represent industry, commercial and professional groups, registered charities and special interest groups.