"We Will Not Cancel Us" by adrienne maree brown is a book that addresses the concept of cancel or call-out culture in social justice movements. The author examines the cancel culture from a Black, queer, and feminist perspective. Throughout this book, brown emphasizes that cancelling individuals or groups can cause greater harm than good. This book also examines the ways in which a cancel culture can lead to destructive and exclusionary behaviours; it proposes a transformational justice-centred approach to addressing the harm that supports healing, transformation, and collective responsibility. Brown encourages readers to refrain from taking a binary perspective regarding whether to cancel or forgive in favour of a more nuanced and holistic approach that emphasizes progress and growth. Instructors can use this book to facilitate debates and discussions about accountability and transformative justice within social justice movements. Additionally, this book emphasizes the importance of promoting anti-oppressive frameworks in social movements, which can be useful for instructors seeking to increase their knowledge about building equitable and just communities.
“Pleasure Activism," edited by adrienne maree brown, explores the junction of pleasure and activism, challenging the notion that effort and sorrow are required for social change. According to the contributing authors, political activism is an effective tool for creating socially meaningful movements that can have a lasting impact on society. This book is rooted in Black feminist tradition and contains essays, interviews, and personal observations from a variety of authors, providing a broad and intersectional viewpoint on pleasure and activism. In addition, this book also includes practical methods and ideas for incorporating pleasure into aspects of activism, such as developing pleasure-focused places and cultivating self-care and community-care practices. This book can be used to introduce students to a new way of thinking about activism and social change. Furthermore, this book offers an anti-racist perspective on the potential for pleasure to serve as a site of resistance and transformation. Moreover, instructors may utilize this book to facilitate discussions on self-care and community care within social justice movements, examine anti-oppressive practices, and discuss how pleasure can be utilized to combat various forms of oppression and facilitate social movements that are more sustainable and fulfilling.
'Trauma-Informed Pedagogies: A Guide for Responding to Crisis and Inequality in Higher Education' provides an evidenced based guide for higher education educators responding to crisis and inequality. In this book, educators will find a variety of methods and tools designed to help instructors create inclusive, equitable, and supportive environments that prioritize the well-being and needs of students. By reading this book, instructors can better understand how to respond sensitively and effectively to students who have experienced trauma. Additionally, it offers instructors with some insight into the trauma equity-deserving students face due to systemic racism and oppression. Moreover, the book provides practical advice regarding how to create a safe and supportive learning environment that considers trauma impact and promotes student well-being.
"Race and Higher Education", the author examines how race and racism influence teaching and learning in the higher education sector. According to the contributing authors, traditional pedagogical approaches often fail to recognize the experiences and perspectives of students from diverse racial and ethnic backgrounds, which can result in marginalization and disengagement. By incorporating diverse perspectives into course materials, developing critical pedagogies, and engaging in ongoing self-reflection and dialogue about race and racism, the authors provide strategies for creating more inclusive learning environments. The book provides educators with an anti-racist lens and practical strategies for addressing racism in higher education, and offers tools to promote equity and inclusion in the classroom.
“Antiracist Writing Assessment Ecologies” by Asao Inoue, argues that traditional writing assessment practices are often based on racist assumptions that perpetuate systemic inequalities. Inoue proposes an alternative approach to writing assessment that is grounded in anti-racist principles and focuses on the social contexts and purposes of writing. This book provides a critical analysis of the ways in which writing assessment practices can perpetuate systemic inequalities and offers concrete strategies for promoting more equitable and inclusive assessment practices. Moreover, this book will be of particular interest to writing instructors seeking to adopt an anti-racist framework into their teaching practices, as well as create a more just and inclusive classroom environment.
“Teaching to Transgress: Education as the Practice of Freedom” emphasizes the importance of education as a tool for liberation and social justice. According to hooks, education should be a space where students are encouraged to challenge dominant narratives and engage in critical thinking. As an effective tool to reconceptualize and reinvent each new teaching experience, hooks proposes "engaged pedagogy" as an approach to empower students, and to motivate educators to rethink their teaching methods. Through inclusivity, hooks encourages educators to promote diverse perspectives and experiences in the classroom. This book presents an array of emancipatory frameworks rooted in social justice principles anti-oppressive frameworks. For instructors, this book will help them better understand their own roles in addressing issues of race, power and oppression in the classroom that may arise.
“Academic Well-being of Racialized Students” brings together a curated collection of chapters by students, scholars and educators to examine the educational experiences of racialized students in higher education. Using various forms of communication and expressive art, this book creatively explores the experiences of racialized students in academia. While providing strategies for promoting academic success and well-being for racialized students, the contributors address issues such as racism, marginalization, and lack of representation within academic institutions. Throughout the text, this book looks at the challenges racialized students face when interacting within white academic spaces, which maintain an ivory tower mentality. Instructors can use the strategies presented in the book to create more inclusive and anti-racist learning environments. In addition to providing educators with insight into how racial exclusion intersects with academia, this book also provides them with resources and models that address mentorship, reciprocity, and responsibility.
“Race, equity, and the learning environment” explores the importance of creating inclusive and equitable learning environments in higher education. The contributing authors argue that traditional educational practices often reinforce systems of inequality and marginalize students from historically marginalized groups. To address this, the authors advocate for the use of critical, inclusive and anti-racist pedagogies, which aim to challenge and dismantle existing power structures and create more anti-oppressive learning environments. The book offers insights into the challenges of implementing critical and inclusive pedagogies and provides practical strategies for overcoming these challenges. It also includes case studies from a variety of global contexts, making it a valuable resource for educators working in diverse cultural contexts. This book provides practical guidance on how to use critical and inclusive pedagogies to challenge existing power structures and promote anti-racist frameworks in the classroom.
"Count Me In: Community and Belonging in Mathematics" delves into themes of diversity, equity, and inclusion in mathematics education. The contributing authors contend that cultivating a sense of community and belonging is critical for encouraging participation and success in mathematics, particularly among underrepresented groups. Additionally, the authors provide practical tips and examples for designing inclusive and welcoming mathematics classrooms, which include culturally responsive pedagogies and anti-racist practices, as well as incorporating the cultural background and experiences of students. The book also emphasizes the significance of creating supportive networks and communities both within and outside of the classroom. This book can be used by instructors to investigate issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion in mathematics education, as well as to acquire practical ways for developing more inclusive and inviting classrooms. Additionally, the book can facilitate discussions about the importance of belonging and community in education, as well as highlight the experiences and perspectives of underrepresented groups in the field of mathematics. Educators interested in incorporating culturally sensitive pedagogy and anti-racist practices into their classroom may also find the book useful.
In “Race Talk and the Conspiracy of Silence: Understanding and Facilitating Difficult Dialogues on Race”, Sue offers insights into why discussions about race can be difficult and how to facilitate productive dialogues about race. The author also highlights the implicit and explicit social rules that govern discussions regarding race. Sue offers strategies for identifying and addressing common barriers and challenges to unproductive discussions about race, such as fear, guilt, and shame. Additionally, the author provides a framework for effective communication and techniques for managing emotional responses in challenging dialogues about race. Throughout this book, instructors will gain insight into how to implement anti-racist approaches and facilitate a dialogue that encourages understanding and acceptance among students.
Interrogating Whiteness and Relinquishing Power by Floyd Cobb (Editor); Nicole M. Joseph (Editor); Chayla Haynes (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-10-28
"Interrogating Whiteness and Relinquishing Power" explores the experiences of white faculty members in STEM classrooms who are committed to promoting racial consciousness and dismantling white supremacy. In addition to offering tools for developing critical pedagogy and encouraging ongoing self-reflection and dialogue, the authors share their own experiences regarding racial equity and inclusion in STEM classrooms as well as strategies that can be used to promote racial equity and inclusion in STEM classrooms. Throughout this book, instructors will learn practical anti-racist strategies that promote racial consciousness and dismantle white supremacy in STEM classrooms.
“Performing Antiracist Pedagogy in Rhetoric, Writing, and Communication” explores the application of antiracist pedagogy to the fields of rhetoric, writing, and communication. The essays in the book explore topics such as the role of language and communication in perpetuating racism, the importance of centering the experiences of marginalized students in the classroom, and strategies for disrupting and challenging white supremacy in higher education. The book provides practical guidance for instructors seeking to implement antiracist pedagogies in their classrooms, which include sample assignments, syllabi, and discussion prompts.
Connected Teaching by Harriet L. Schwartz; Laurent A. Parks Daloz (Foreword by); Judith V. Jordan (Afterword by)
Publication Date: 2019-05-13
"Connected Teaching: Relationship, Power, and Mattering in Higher Education" emphasizes the importance of connection, power, and identity in teaching and learning. To support learning and well-being in the classroom, the author encourages educators to establish honest and equitable relationships with students. The author provides advice on how to create a more equitable and inclusive learning environment by examining issues related to power and privilege in the classroom. As part of the book, educators are provided with strategies for establishing and maintaining connections with students, including active listening, vulnerability, and reflection. Instructors can use this book to reflect on their own teaching techniques and develop ways to engage students in authentic and equitable interactions. Additionally, the book can be used to promote classroom discussions about issues of power and privilege and how these issues impact learning and well-being. Instructors who wish to create an inclusive and supportive learning environment for their students may also find the book useful.
"How to be an Antiracist” offers a framework for understanding and combating racism. Kendi argues that being "not racist" is not enough; we must actively work to be anti-racist and proactively challenge systems of oppression. Kendi draws on his own experiences and historical examples to illustrate the impact of racism and the importance of anti-racist action. This book provides a clear and accessible framework for understanding and addressing racism. It stresses the importance of activism to achieve a more equitable society. It can be used by instructors as a tool for reflecting on their role and that of their institutions in upholding anti-racist ideals, and as a guide to examining the equity of classroom spaces and pedagogies employed within them.
Note: Antiracist (as reflected in the author's publication title) and anti-racist are used interchangeably.
“So, You Want to Talk About Race” is a comprehensive guide for anyone interested in understanding and engaging in conversations about race. It covers various topics such as privilege, microaggressions, intersectionality, and police brutality. The author uses personal anecdotes and real-world examples to help readers understand how racism operates in our society and how we can work towards dismantling it. Throughout the book, the author offers an anti-racist lens and provides practical tools and strategies for facilitating difficult conversations about race in the classroom. In addition, the book also addresses common misconceptions about race and provides clear explanations of key concepts related to race and racism, making it a valuable resource for educators and students alike.
"Grading for Equity: Why It Matters, and How It Can Transform Schools and Classrooms" critically examines established grading practices in education and presents strategies for grading that promote equity and encourage student achievement. The author proposes a more equalitarian and transparent grading system, arguing that traditional grading practices are subjective, prejudiced, and do not accurately reflect student learning. The book provides examples and techniques for improving grading procedures, such as implementing standards-based grading, eliminating zeros, and separating academic performance from behaviour. Additionally, the author addresses typical concerns and objections to alternative grading practices in the classroom as well as advice on how to implement them. This book can be used by instructors to evaluate and reflect upon their own grading methods and to develop solutions for building more equitable and transparent grading systems. Additionally, the book can be used to facilitate discussion on the effects of grading on student learning and motivation, as well as to investigate alternative grading techniques that prioritize fairness and learning. It is also useful for instructors looking to adopt an anti-racist lens and establish more equitable grading practices in their classrooms.
“Black Canadians History, Experiences, Social Conditions” provides an overview of the history, experiences, and social conditions of Black Canadians. This book addresses issues such as institutionalized racism, discrimination, and inequality faced by Black Canadians. It also discusses the contributions of Black Canadians to the Canadian society, culture, and economy. This book provides a comprehensive understanding of the Black Canadian experience and their struggles against systemic racism. It can serve as a resource for educators to incorporate Black Canadian history and culture into their curricula and create an inclusive learning environment that promotes anti-racist values.
“Boomerang Ethics: How Racism Affects Us All” explores how racism affects people in different ways and argues that understanding the impact of racism on individuals and communities is crucial to anti-racist education. This book discusses how systemic racism may be harmful not only for those who experience it, but also for those who perpetrate it, and it advocates for a shared responsibility to address systemic racism. As a result of the book, readers are encouraged to examine their own personal and institutional biases and recognize the need for collective action to challenge and dismantle racism.
“Antiracist education: From theory to practice” discusses the theory and practice of antiracist education. Kailin argues that antiracist education is necessary for creating a more just and equitable society and outlines the steps that educators can take to promote antiracism in their classrooms. The author also provides practical examples of antiracist teaching practices, such as culturally relevant teaching and critical pedagogy. This book provides a framework for understanding antiracist education and offers practical strategies for promoting equity and inclusion in the classroom. This book is relevant for educators who want to develop a deeper understanding of antiracism and learn how to put antiracist principles into practice.
On Intersectionality by Kimberlé Crenshaw
Publication Date: (Not yet published)
"On Intersectionality: Essential Writings" explores the concept of intersectionality, which recognizes that people have multiple identities that intersect, such as race, gender, sexuality, class, and ability. Taking its cues from Black feminist and critical race theory, Crenshaw characterizes intersectionality as a progressive movement that seeks to address social issues such as racial justice and gender equality. Crenshaw argues that understanding intersectionality is an essential component to effectively address issues such as systems of power, oppression and discrimination, and the conditions experienced by marginalized groups. Throughout this book, instructors will be introduced to an anti-oppressive framework that will help them understand how different forms of oppression intersect, as well as the importance of taking intersectionality into account when discussing power, gender and race.
“Countering Colorblindness across Disciplines” brings together scholars from various disciplines to examine the ways in which colorblindness and post-racialism have impacted contemporary discussions around race. The authors argue that colorblindness, and the belief that race no longer matters, has obstructed efforts to address systemic racism, and in doing so, perpetuates racial inequality throughout society. In addition to addressing anti-racism, the book also examines how race intersects with other forms of oppression and how educators can "see race again". Furthermore, this book provides educators with an opportunity to gain a deeper understanding of colorblindness as it pertains to racial discussions, and introduces practical strategies for counteracting it.
“Me and White Supremacy” is a book that is an essential tool for anti-racist teaching. In this critical text, white people are encouraged to investigate white privilege and its benefits and explore what allyship entails. Essentially, it is a workbook that guides the reader through a 28-day process of examining their own complicity in white supremacy, as well as finding ways to combat racism on a personal and societal level by examining how they are complicit in it. A number of pedagogical strategies and tools are presented in this book which may prove useful to educators who wish to become more reflective and aware of the impacts of their teaching and learning practices in the classroom. Moreover, through anti-racist approaches, this book provides instructors with a framework that encourages them to think critically about how systemic racism has permeated our society.
“Teaching/Learning Anti-Racism: A Developmental Approach” provides a developmental approach to teaching and learning about anti-racism. The authors offer practical strategies for educators at different developmental stages, emphasizing the importance of ongoing self-reflection, dialogue, and action in promoting antiracism. The book also includes case studies and examples of successful antiracist teaching practices. This book offers a developmental approach to understanding and addressing racism, which can help educators at different stages of their own antiracist journey. This book also provides practical strategies and examples for promoting antiracism in the classroom, making it useful for educators who want to incorporate antiracist principles into their teaching practice.
“Intersectionalities of Race, Class, and Gender with Teaching and Teacher Education” explores the intersections of race, class, and gender in teaching and teacher education, and how these intersections impact educational equity. The contributing authors of this book draw on their own experiences and research to analyze issues such as culturally responsive teaching, teacher identity, and teacher preparation. The authors also offer an anti-oppressive lens to outline effective strategies for promoting more inclusive and equitable teaching practices as well as teacher education programs. This book emphasizes the importance of understanding the intersections of race, class, and gender in education and offers practical strategies for promoting equity and inclusion in the classroom and in teacher education programs. This book is relevant for teachers and those interested in promoting more inclusive and equitable teacher preparation programs.
"Pedagogy of the Oppressed" is a classic text in critical pedagogy, emphasizing the importance of a dialogic and participatory approach to teaching and learning. Freire argues that traditional education reinforces the dominant power structures in society and creates a "banking" model of education in which students are passive recipients of information. Instead, Freire advocates for a more democratic and liberatory model of education where students actively participate in the learning process and engage in critical thinking and reflection. This text can help educators understand the ways in which traditional education perpetuates oppressive systems. Freire's work emphasizes the importance of centering the experiences of marginalized communities and promoting dialogue and collaboration among students and instructors.
'Trauma-Informed Pedagogies: A Guide for Responding to Crisis and Inequality in Higher Education' provides guidelines for higher education educators responding to crisis and inequality. In this book, educators will find a variety of methods and tools designed to help them create inclusive, equitable, and supportive environments that prioritize the well-being and needs of students. By reading this book, instructors can better understand how to respond sensitively and effectively to students who have experienced trauma. Additionally, it offers instructors practical advice regarding how to create a safe and supportive learning environment that considers trauma impact and promotes student well-being.
"Policing Black Lives" is a comprehensive examination of anti-Black racism and state brutality in Canada, beginning with the transatlantic slave trade and extending to the present. Maynard investigates the numerous forms of oppression that Black Canadians endure, such as police brutality, incarceration, immigration detention, and institutional racism in healthcare and education. The book also examines Black resistance and resilience in the face of institutional oppression, emphasizing the importance of grassroots activity and community organizing. This book can be used to teach students about the history of anti-Black racism in Canada as well as the current struggles of Black Canadians. The book presents a critical study of the state's and its institutions' roles in perpetuating violence against Black communities, and it can be a significant resource for educators attempting to understand and oppose structural injustice. Furthermore, instructors can utilize the book to facilitate discussions about anti- Black racism, the role of grassroots organization and community-led movements in bringing about significant change.
“On Being Included" addresses the limitations and shortcomings of diversity initiatives in combating systematic racism within institutions. According to Ahmed, these projects frequently focus on the image of diversity rather than actual change, and they might even recreate the racism they are meant to fight. The book examines institutional diversity initiatives critically, using examples from academia, business, and government. Ahmed also provides methods and techniques for confronting institutional racism, such as the significance of listening to and emphasizing oppressed groups' perspectives, as well as the need to confront and challenge the underlying structures and systems of oppression. The book can be used by instructors to critically assess institutional diversity initiatives and their limits. The book presents a critical analysis of how institutions have co-opted diversity, as well as suggestions into how systemic change may be achieved. Moreover, the book has the potential to be used to foster anti-racist dialogue within institutions about allyship and solidarity, as well as to explore opportunities for creating a more inclusive environment.
“The Exploitation of plant resources in ancient Africa” highlights the African indigenous knowledge(s) about some of the plants that laid the foundations for the life worlds of previous African peoples. The contributing authors of this volume address the origins of agriculture and provide data and interpretations pertaining to African agriculture and plantation to support anti-racist and anti-oppressive discourse. It also provides insights into African plant resources' sustainability for the future. An instructor could use the book in botany and agronomy courses to broaden the information on ‘centers of origin.’ Educators can also use this book as a supplementary text to showcase biological knowledge in the African continent.
Note: Centres of origin - in botanical terms, this refers to the place where the crop was first cultivated by humans (i.e., domesticated), or the crop's original place
Black Athena: The Afroasiatic roots of classical civilization is an important foundational text in the field of knowledge diffusion. It was published in three volumes in 1987, 1991, and 2006. Bernal engages the reader through an in-depth exploration of ancient language dispersion (etymology) as well as the implications of this dispersion on ancient Greece narratives that deny the contributions of Africans to academic knowledge. In doing so, he draws attention to African contributions to those narratives and helps to establish the truth about the diffusion of knowledge. Education professionals in various disciplines will find knowledge diffusion to be a valuable anti-racist pedagogical concept valid in all academic disciplines (e.g., linguistics, mathematics, and science). In three volumes, the book continues to garner constructive and polemical reactions. It provides educators with an innovative approach to understanding the African diaspora and its implications for global knowledge production. Additionally, it is a valuable resource for scholars interested in studying African and Diasporic history and culture.