Skip to Main ContentJohn M. Kelly Library Research Guides

CLT337H1: Early Celtic History 450-1000 - Customized Resources

CLT337H1: Early Celtic History 450-1000 - Customized Resources



Ancient Celtic Fort Wall Reconstruction. Gratefully adapted with a PD license from Libreshot Free Images.


Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search


Ulrich's Periodical Directory

Other Databases

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Catalogue Search

 
 



Advanced Search

E-Bibliography

 

E-Books

Callan, Maeve Brigid. The Templars, the Witch, and the Wild Irish: Vengeance and Heresy in Medieval Ireland. Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2014.

Corning, C. The Celtic and Roman Traditions: Conflict and Consensus in the Early Medieval Church. New York: Palgrave Macmillan US, 2006.

Cunliffe, Barry W. The Celts: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2003.

Cunliffe, Barry W. Druids: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2010.

Davies, Wendy. Wales in the Early Middle Ages. Leicester: Leicester University Press, 1982.

Davis, R.H.C. A History of Medieval Europe from Constantine to Saint Louis. 3rd ed. Longman, 2005.

Gillett, Andrew. On Barbarian Identity: Critical Approaches to Ethnicity in the Early Middle Ages. Turnhout: Brepols, 2002.

Goffart, Walter, and Ruth Mazo Karras. Barbarian Tides: The Migration Age and the Later Roman Empire. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2009.

Guy, Ben, Owain Wyn Jones, and Georgia Henley. The Chronicles of Medieval Wales and the March: New Contexts, Studies and Texts. Turnhout, Belgium: Brepols Publishers, 2020.

Halsall, Guy. Warfare and Society in the Barbarian West, 450-900. London: Routledge, 2003.

Hen, Y. Roman Barbarians: The Royal Court and Culture in the Early Medieval West. London: Palgrave Macmillan UK, 2007.

Henry, F. and Marsh-Micheli, G.L. "Manuscripts and Illuminations, 1169-163". In A New History of Ireland Volume 2: Medieval Ireland 1169-1534, edited by A. Cosgrave, 780-815. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008.

James, Edward. Europe’s Barbarians AD 200-600. London: Routledge, 2009.

Kuuliala, Jenni, and Jussi Rantala. Travel, Pilgrimage and Social Interaction from Antiquity to the Middle Ages. Milton: Routledge, 2020.

Legassie, Shayne Aaron. The Medieval Invention of Travel. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2017.

Montanari, Massimo. A Cultural History of Food in the Medieval Age. London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2014.

Muldoon, James, Ed. The North Atlantic Frontier of Medieval Europe: Vikings and Celts. Farnham: Routledge, 2009.

Ó Cróinín, D. Early Medieval Ireland. London and New York: Routledge, 2017.

O’Sullivan, W. "Manuscripts and Palaeography". In A New History of Ireland Volume 1: Prehistoric and Early Ireland, edited by D. Ó Cróinín. Oxford: Oxford University Press: 511-548.

Over, Kristen Lee. Kingship, Conquest, and Patria. Kingship, Conquest, and Patria. London: Routledge, 2005.

Pohl, Walter, and Gerda Heydemann. Post-Roman Transitions: Christian and Barbarian Identities in the Early Medieval West. Turnhout: Brepols Publishers, 2013.

Romano, John. Medieval Travel and Travelers: A Reader. University of Toronto Press, 2020.

Sigurđsson, Jón Viđar, and Timothy Bolton. Celtic-Norse Relationships in the Irish Sea in the Middle Ages 800-1200: Celtic-Norse Relationships in the Irish Sea in the Middle Ages 800-1200. Leiden: BRILL, 2013.

Whalen, Brett Edward. Pilgrimage in the Middle Ages: A Reader. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2011.

Whitfield, Susan. Life Along the Silk Road. 2nd ed. Oakland, Calif: University of California Press, 2015.

Winroth, Anders. The Conversion of Scandinavia: Vikings, Merchants, and Missionaries in the Remaking of Northern Europe. Yale University Press, 2012.

Wyatt, David. Slaves and Warriors in Medieval Britain and Ireland, 800-1200. Leiden: Brill, 2009.

Wycherley, Niamh. The Cult of Relics in Early Medieval Ireland. Turnhout: Brepols Publishers, 2016.

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

 

Celtic World

The Oxford Companion to Irish History.

Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

Dictionary of Celtic Mythology.

Encyclopedia of Irish Spirituality.

Routledge International Handbook of Irish Studies.

Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.

 

The Oxford Companion to Scottish History.

Dictionary of Celtic Mythology.

A Dictionary of British and Irish History.

A Companion to the Early Middle Ages: Britain and Ireland c.500-1100.

Barbarians

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Encyclopedia of Barbarian Europe: Society in Transformation

Medieval Trade & Travel

Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present

Travel and Travelers - Medieval Studies - Oxford Bibliographies

Warfare

Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology

Focused on the crusading movement from roughly 1095 and 1291, this 4-volume set covers such topics as persons (Saladin), families and dynasties (Embriaci Family), anonymous literary works (Melisende Psalter), places and countries (Tripoli, City of), events (Ankara, Battle of (1402), and general subjects (Crusades against Christians). With individual bibliographies for each entry as well as a lengthy general bibliography, and with a substantial index in the final volume as well as some primary texts, this encyclopedia should prove useful for students studying the Crusades.

Medieval Medicine & Disease

Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of the Black Death

Ancient World

Oxford Handbook of Late Antiquity

Middle Ages

Medieval Studies - Oxford Bibliographies

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs

Christianity

The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church

 

Primary Sources


Aneirin. Y Gododin: A Poem of the Battle of Cattraeth. 7th-10th Century. Translated and introduced by John Williams. London: William Rees, Longman, 1852. Project Gutenberg, 2006.

Aneirin. The Book of Aneirin [including Y Gododin].Scans of the original manuscript. NLW Llyfr Aneirin, Cardiff MS 2.81. National Library of Wales. 7th-10th Century.

Bede. Ecclesiastical History, Volume I: Books 1-3. Translated by J. E. King. Loeb Classical Library 246. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1930.

Bede. Ecclesiastical History, Volume II: Books 4-5. Lives of the Abbots. Letter to Egbert.Translated by J. E. King. Loeb Classical Library 248. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1930.

Lebor Gabála Érenn: The Book of the Taking of Ireland. Edited and translated by R.A. Stewart MacAlister. Dublin: Irish Texts Society, 1938.

Part 1.
Part 2.
Part 3.
Part 4.
Part 5.
Part 6.

Muirchú. Life of Saint Patrick. Translated by Newport J.D. White. London: Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge, Macmillan, 1920.

Nennius. Historia Brittonum [History of the Britons]. 9th Century. Translated by John Allen Giles, 1847.

O’Hanlon, John. Life of St. Brigid, Virgin: First Abbess of Kildare, Special Patroness of Kildare Diocese, and General Patroness of Ireland. Dublin: Joseph Dollard, 1877.

Patrick, Saint. Confessio. Royal Irish Academy, 2011.

O’Hanlon, John. Life of St. Brigid, Virgin: First Abbess of Kildare, Special Patroness of Kildare Diocese, and General Patroness of Ireland. Dublin: Joseph Dollard, 1877.

Old Irish Law Tracts

Críth Gablach. Edited by Daniel A. Binchy. Dublin: Stationer's Office, 1941.

Senchas Már: Ancient Laws of Ireland: Facsimile of the Oldest Fragments from MS. H. 2.15 in the Library of Trinity College, Dublin. Dublin: Stationer's Office, 1931.

Other Primary Resource Sites

CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts

CODECS

Internet Medieval Sourcebook

Irish Script on Screen