Research Guides: CHM317: Principles of Instrumental Analysis: Properties and Safety Data Sheets

Safety Data Sheets (SDS)

It is important to note the chemicals you will be using during the lab and how to safely handle and dispose of them by reviewing each substance's Safety Data Sheet.

Safety Data Sheets (SDS) Database
Search the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health & Safety's (CCOHS) database 50,000+ safety data sheets from different manufacturers. Use the filters on the left to search by product name or manufacturer/supplier.

Many manufacturers and suppliers provide free access to safety data sheets on their websites. You can also find the SDS by entering the product/common name for the substance and "sds" in Google.

Chemical & Physical Properties

Handbooks & Online Resources

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
For over a century, the CRC Handbook has been a trusted and authoritative resource for tables of property data, and also contains a number of correlation charts for helping predict unknown spectra. Search the online version by substance, or navigate to a specific table and filter or sort for the data you are looking for.
Combined Chemical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Search across multiple chemical dictionaries, including Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, and Dictionary of Drugs. Search by chemical structure, property values, chemical name, CAS registry number and more to find information about a wide range of compounds.
NIST Chemistry WebBook This link opens in a new window
From the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), this resource allows you to search both by substance and by a particular physical property to identify unknown substances.
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
Available online from the Royal Society of Chemistry, The Merck Index is an authoritative and reliable source of information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. Particularly useful for pharmaceutical substances.
Knovel Library This link opens in a new window
Search this large collection of chemistry and chemical engineering handbooks for chemical and physical property data. Search for substances by name, or use the Material Property Search to find specific property data.

Databases

Chemspider This link opens in a new window
ChemSpider is a free database containing chemical structures and properties, curated by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Search by chemical name, identifier or chemical structure.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
Compounds and related factual properties, reaction and synthesis information, and citation data.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive source for searching the chemical literature. Search by topic, author, substance name or CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions.

Research Guides

CHM317: Principles of Instrumental Analysis

Your Chemistry Librarian

Chemistry Library

Safety Data Sheets (SDS)

Chemical & Physical Properties

Handbooks & Online Resources

Databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us