Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HLTD21: Health Equity, Anti-Black Racism and the Art of Health Promotion

Fall 2021 - Professor Notisha Massaquoi

Where to Look for Articles

Research databases are an excellent place to look for scholarly journal articles on your topic.

Why Use Research Databases?

  • They are often specialized by subject area (e.g. health studies)
  • They contain information not available through public resources like Google
  • They are designed with scholars and researchers in mind

Why Search Multiple Databases?

While doing your research, it's a good idea to look in more than one place for your articles.

  • Databases contain different content: You may notice some overlap between the search results of different databases; however, each database also contains unique results. By searching one and not the other, you a) risk missing out on valuable information, and b) bias your search by excluding relevant materials.
     
  • Databases operate differently: Not all databases search the same way, and so you may need to tweak your search strategy to match the requirements of a specific database. 

Recommended Journal Article Databases

The following list provides an interdisciplinary collection of databases that cover health and gender across the social sciences, humanities, and life sciences.

Research and Database Tutorials