Research guides: PRT358: Forests, Deserts, and Cities: The Environment in Brazilian Culture: Finding Journal Articles

Finding Journal Articles

The University of Toronto subscribes to a number of index and full-tex article databases that contain extensive coverage of scholarly periodicals. The selected list below is an example of the periodical titles you should be able to find in databases such as JSTOR, Project Muse, Taylor & Francis, among others.

Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies [Scholars Portal: Taylor & Francis Archive]
Journal of Lusophone Studies [DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals]
Latin American Literary Review [JSTOR]
Luso-Brazilian Review [JSTOR; Poject MUSE]
Revista de Letras [JSTOR]
Revista de Critica Literaria Latinoamericana [JSTOR; Periodicals Archive Online Collection]
Romance Notes [Gale Literary Resource Center; JSTOR; Project Muse]

JSTOR
Used in more than 11,000 schools, universities, and institutions around the world, the collections in JSTOR include peer-reviewed scholarly journals, respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports, and primary sources from libraries’ special collections and archives.
Project Muse
Project MUSE promotes the creation and dissemination of essential humanities and social science resources through collaboration with libraries, publishers, and scholars worldwide. Forged from a partnership between a university press and a library, Project MUSE is a trusted part of the academic and scholarly community it serves.
Taylor & Francis Online

Open Access (Individual titles)

Revista Devires: Cinema e Humanidades
Published jointly by the post-graduate programs in Communications and Anthropology of FAFICH-UFMG, Devires magazine seeks to associate cinema studies with the field of Humanities, in search of a dialogue between different approaches that deal with the writing of films in its relation with multiple forms of life. Bringing together authors from different institutions, in Brazil and abroad, Devires seeks to create a publication engaged both in theoretical debates and in the artistic works that reflect, critically and intensely, the field of cinema.

Open Access Article Databases

La Referencia (Brasil): Red the respositorios abiertos a la ciencia
LA Referencia gives visibility to the scientific production of higher education and research institutions in Latin America, promotes open and free access to the full text, with special emphasis on publicly financed results.
Oasisbr: Portal de Publicacões cientificas em acesso aberto
The Brazilian Open Access Scientific Publications Portal - oasisbr is a multidisciplinary search engine that allows free access to the scientific production of authors linked to Brazilian universities and research institutes. Through oasisbr it is also possible to perform searches in Portuguese information sources.

Scielo
The Scientific Electronic Library Online- is an electronic full text virtual library covering a selected collection of journals from Brazil. Many of journals are in the physical/medical sciences. SciELO includes also journals in the humanities, social sciences literature and linguistics. SCIELO contains an electronic book collection for Brazil as well.
Directory of Open Access Journals
The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 16 500 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.

Research Guides

PRT358: Forests, Deserts, and Cities: The Environment in Brazilian Culture

Finding Journal Articles

Open Access (Individual titles)

Open Access Article Databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us