Please contact me!
Tain mosaic by Desmond Kinney. Photo by Leandro Neumann Ciuffo gratefully adapted with a CC license from Flickr.
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.
Looking for articles, books or essays? This article database, covering from 1920 to the present, is one of the most important resources available. Packed with more than 840,000 records, ABELL refers you to journal articles, books, essay collections, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations. Another advantage is scope. Covering American, British and Commonwealth literature, as well as some material in languages besides English, ABELL is one of the two key indices for literature students--the other is the MLA International Bibliography.
Bibliography of British & Irish History (BBIH)
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
The Celts: Bronze Age to New Age, By John Haywood
Britain Begins. By Barry Cunliffe. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2013.
The Celts: A Very Short Introduction. By Barry Cunliffe.
The Celtic Dragon Myth, by J.F. Campbell. London: Routledge, 2013.
Internal Colonialism: The Celtic Fringe in British National Development, by Michael Hechter
A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By Peter Berresford Ellis. ABC-CLIO, 1992.
A Dictionary of Celtic Mythology. By James MacKillop. Oxford University Press, 2004.
Encyclopedia of Religion. GALE, Macmillan Reference, 2005.
Encyclopedia of Irish Spirituality.
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs. ABC-CLIO, 2000.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts.
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture
Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish History
With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.
Oxford Companion to Irish History
Routledge International Handbook of Irish Studies.
The Arthurian Name Dictionary. By Christopher W. Bruce. Garland, 1999.
Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.
Companion to the Early Middle Ages : Britain and Ireland c.500-1100
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
This series provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. Works by anonymous authors (e.g. Táin Bó Cúailnge) are listed in the title section. Most essays are available online in Literature Criticism Online, a database comprising 10 print series and consisting of more than 250 volumes compiled over the past 30 years. Using this online collection, you can search individual series titles (e.g. Contemporary Literature Criticism) all together, in a selected combination, or individually. You can find articles on such topics as Irish nationalism in literature, the Irish novel, and the Irish literary renaissance. Arranged alphabetically, the entries provide in-depth critical essays on an author’s work, along with biographical facts, a list of major works, and related sources. Usually, the essays give an overview of a writer’s work or themes.