Research guides: POLD38: Law &amp; Global Business: Home

Getting Started

To begin, select a global company and governance issue you'd like to research.

Not sure what company or issue to choose? Try searching popular news sources for ideas.
- e.g. Rio Tinto's destruction of indigenous sites in Australia - CBC Article
To get started, complete the following tutorial:
- Tutorial: Search Factiva for Company Information & News

Search these databases for company information as well as business news and management scholarly journals.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Full text and citations of business journals, including accounting, economics, finance, management, management information systems, marketing and international business.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Global company search engine featuring company profiles, capital stock information, reports, subsidiaries, and more.

Passport GMID
Market research from Euromonitor with reports by industry and by country. GMID is especially useful for market data on consumer goods.

Search the following databases for news articles on your company and the governance issue you've chosen to research.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Current and archived news, business and company information worldwide.
US Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and archival U.S. newspapers, and includes full-text newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Newsstand (CDN) This link opens in a new window

Annual report includes information about a company's activities and their finances.

PLEASE NOTE: Only public companies will make their annual reports available on their websites

Search the company's website
- E.g. Check under "Investors" on the Barrick Gold website https://www.barrick.com/
Having trouble searching the site? Try adding "site:" to google search your company's website
- E.g. If you were searching Barrick Gold's website for annual reports, you could search site: barrick.com + "annual report"

Search for your company in Google Finance for information like market capitalization, stock price, and exchanges where it's traded.

Google Finance Includes global coverage of market news, real-time stock data, historical stock data and charting applications, with country-specific versions for the US, Canada, Hong Kong, China and the UK. Also includes portfolio tools and a stock screener. Google Domestic Trends provides insight into relative Google search activity (compared with all search activity) for keywords associated with specific sectors.