Research guides: PSYC71: Social Psychology Laboratory: Researcher generated data

Key repository: ICPSR

ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) is a major US-based archive containing more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioural sciences. It also hosts a range of special collections, some of which are listed below.

Accessing ICPSR:

ICPSR

Requires creation of a free account using your U of T email address. You must be at an on-campus computer or remotely connected to the U of T server (via the UTORvpn) when you first register for your account. After the account is set up you can access ICPSR from anywhere.

Specialized ICPSR collections of interest to psychologists:

Other major research data repositories

Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data)
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines.
Scholars Portal Dataverse
The Scholars Portal Dataverse is a repository primarily for research data collected by researchers and organizations affiliated with Ontario universities, although anyone in the world is welcome to use Scholars Portal Dataverse to deposit, share, and archive data.
Open Science Framework (OSF)
OSF is a free, open source web application used by researchers to collaborate, document, archive, share, and register research projects, materials, and data. OSF is the flagship product of the non-profit Center for Open Science.
Harvard Dataverse
Major research data repository, hosted at Harvard University.
National Data Archive on Child Abuse & Neglect (NDACAN)
NDACAN acquires microdata from leading researchers and national data collection efforts and makes these datasets available to the research community for secondary analysis. Requires signing a license before data can be accessed.
Murray Research Archive
A US repository for social science data on human development and social change, especially data that illuminates women's lives and issues of concern to women.
Institute for Social Research
Based at the University of Michigan. Studies include the Health & Retirement Study, the Panel Study of Income Dynamics, the U Michigan Surveys of Consumers, and various election surveys.
Google Dataset search
Locate datasets hosted through publisher websites, digital libraries, researchers' personal web pages, etc.

Many thanks to Leanne Trimble for permission to re-use content from the Finding Psychological Data guide!

PSYC71: Social Psychology Laboratory

Key repository: ICPSR

Other major research data repositories

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us