Please contact me!
The Longest Walk: A British Army bomb disposal officer approaches a possible explosive device in Belfast, Northern Ireland, early 1970s. Public Domain. Gratefully adapted from Wikimedia.
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.
Covering the history of the United States and Canada, America History & Life indexes more than 1,800 journals from 1895 to the present.
Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. The database contains over half a million annotated entries.
The Celts: Bronze Age to New Age, By John Haywood
The Celts: A Very Short Introduction, by Barry Cunliffe.
Irish Nationalists and the Making of the Irish Race, by Bruce Nelson
Internal Colonialism: The Celtic Fringe in British National Development, by Michael Hechter
Archipelagic English: Literature, History, and Politics, 1603-1707, by John Kerrigan
Gaelic Scotland in the Colonial Imagination: Anglophone Writing from 1600 to 1900, by Silke Stroh
This series provides detailed critical essays—often by well-known critics—on a wide range of authors. Works by anonymous authors (e.g. Táin Bó Cúailnge) are listed in the title section. Most essays are available online in Literature Criticism Online, a database comprising 10 print series and consisting of more than 250 volumes compiled over the past 30 years. Using this online collection, you can search individual series titles (e.g. Contemporary Literature Criticism) all together, in a selected combination, or individually. You can find articles on such topics as Irish nationalism in literature, the Irish novel, and the Irish literary renaissance. Arranged alphabetically, the entries provide in-depth critical essays on an author’s work, along with biographical facts, a list of major works, and related sources. Usually, the essays give an overview of a writer’s work or themes.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography
Oxford Companion to Irish History
Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture
Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish History
With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.
A Companion to the Early Middle Ages: Britain and Ireland c.500-1100
Dictionary of British and Irish History
Ireland and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History: A Multidisciplinary Encyclopedia
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: War
Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Research Guide to Celtic Studies