Once you've identified what you need to search, you need to decide where to search for it. Research databases are an excellent place to look for scholarly information on a topic.
Why Use Research Databases?
Check out the "Searching PsycINFO" page in the left menu for an example of how to search using a database.
Try some of these key databases to find articles for your research:
The major index for scholarly literature in psychology from the 1800's to the present. PsycINFO includes material of relevance to practitioners, researchers, and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioural sciences, and other related disciplines.
For additional tips on using this database, see the "Searching PsycINFO" link to the left.
The major index for biomedical research. It is particularly useful for neuroscience and clinical topics.
This database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.
A smaller collection of article records from journals published by the APA, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group, with access to the full-text of articles.
It is generally recommended to search one database at a time, as different databases use different official search terminology and advanced search features; searching in more than one database at a time can also produce too many results.
While doing your research, it's a good idea to look in more than one place for your articles. Why, you may ask?
University of Toronto Scarborough Library
1265 Military Trail, Toronto, ON M1C 1A4 Canada
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved.