Research guides: HLTB40: Health Policy and Health Systems: Find Journal Articles in Databases

What is a Database?

A library database is a searchable, electronic collection of scholarly resources. Databases provide access to a wealth of useful research materials from academic journals. They may also include other materials like newspapers, magazines, e-books, relevant Web resources, or multimedia. Some databases include content from a specific subject area, while others have content from across disciplines.

Recommended Databases for Health Policy and Health Systems

The following databases contain scholarly journal articles covering health policy and health systems:

MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
HealthSTAR (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Published research on health services, technology, administration, and research, focusing on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Contains citation information and abstracts from journals in nursing and health professions. The Ebsco platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to research providing a Canadian perspective on topics including agriculture, business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, medical sciences, social sciences, and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International research in public affairs and public and social policies. Provides access to journal articles, books, government documents, research and conference reports, and more.

Health Database Tutorials

Health Database Video Tutorials
Gerstein Library has prepared short video tutorials to help you understand how to search in Medline and CINAHL.
PubMed Click-Along Tutorial
Complete this tutorial to learn how to search PubMed. This free database contains over 25 million citations for biomedical literature.
ProQuest Click-Along Tutorial
Complete this tutorial to learn how to search any database provided by the company ProQuest. Examples include PAIS Index and the Canadian Business and Current Affairs Database.