Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IDSD02: Advanced Seminar in Critical Development Theory

Search Tips

Here are some strategies to help you find articles on your topic:

  • Keyword searching:  Search suing keywords and boolean operators.   Use limiters (e.g. date, subject etc.) on the left of your screen.
  • Subject searching:   Use subject headings, found in the catalogue and databases, to improve your search.
  • Important articles will be frequently cited:  Look for options to rearrange search results by how often items are "cited". 
  • Expanding your search:  Found a relevant article?  Select "Cited by", "Related Articles", and "References" to find more relevant material.
  • Multiple databases:  No database has everything.   Try multiple databases (from different subjects if relevant) to do a through search.

Finding Databases on the Library Website

There are a wide variety article databases available from the Library website.

  • "Articles" & "Popular Databases":    These include "interdisciplinary" databases, which have sources from across the disciplines.
  • "By subject A-Z":  Select this link to find databases recommended for specific subject areas.   

 

Interdisciplinary Databases

Social Sciences

Political Science Databases

History Databases

Is Your Journal Article Peer-Reviewed?

Before you begin, please complete the following tutorial: Introduction to Ulrich's

How do you know if an article is from a peer-reviewed journal? Some databases allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed journals. For other databases, you need to look up the title of the journal in Ulrich's Directory.

1. Go to Ulrich's:  Click to open Ulrich's.

 

2. Type the JOURNAL TITLE (not the article title) into the search box, and click the green search button.   Look for the JOURNAL TITLE in your search results.

 search ulrichs for journal title

3. In the search results, look for a referee jersey icon to indicate that a journal is refereed. Refereed means the same as peer reviewed.

look for referee jersey icon in search results

 

4. The Journal of Infectious Diseases IS peer reviewed.  

REMEMBER:   It's the JOURNAL that's peer reviewed/refereed, so you are looking for the JOURNAL TITLE in your search results, NOT the article title.