• UT Library Search Engine - Use this resource to find books and journal articles
   
• EBSCO
  • The EBSCO suite of databases contains over 70 files. The following files, which can be searched individually or in combination, are of particular relevance to this course.  You can also search the EBSCO collection in its entirety, using the database filters (e.g., Scholarly (Peer-reviewed; Publication Date) to focus your search. 
    • Criminal Justice Abstracts
    • Bibliography of Native North Americans
       
• ProQuest
  • The ProQuest  suite of databases includes over 100 files.  It can be searched in its entirety, or selectively, by choosing from the database list.  The following files are of particular relevance to this course:
    • Sociological Abstracts
    • IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences)
    • ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts)
    • PAIS Index
    • Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database
  • Use filters (e.g., Peer reviewed; Publication date) to refine your results
  • NOTE: Many of ProQuest's citations include links to references (article bibliographies) as well as to articles that cite a particular work

Additional Databases

• NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service)
• JSTOR
• Google Scholar
  • To determine if a source is scholarly/peer-reviewed, consult Ulrich's Periodical Directory
  • Enter the journal title
  • The referee jersey icon    indicates that a publication is peer reviewed
• Web of Science (specify Social Sciences Citation Index under More Settings)
  • Use Cited Reference Search to find articles that cite a particular author or work