Research guides: Statistics: Financial

General

Global Financial Data - UofT access
- A collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format.
- Long-term historical indices covering over 200 countries
- Includes: total return data on stocks, bonds, and bills: interest rates; exchange rates; inflation rates; bone indices; commodity indices and prices; consumer price indices; gross domestic product; individual stocks; sector indeices; treasury bill yields; wholesale price indices; and unemployment rates
- New member will need to create a free account, make sure to select Academic under New Member Accounts
IMF Data
Provides access to a range of economic time series that relates to financial stability, productivity, exchange rates, etc. Note the International Financial Statistics for individual countries are included in a separate product licensed by the library.

The interactive Data Mapper tool allows users to select data or indicators for regions and/or countries and map or graph them. All data is available for download.
International Financial Statistics
- Online: annual, quarterly and monthly data from 1940 +
- UN9..MF......I52....ENG
- 1948 - 2002 (holding incomplete)
- 2003 + International Financial Statistics: Country notes
- Annual 1979 +
- Includes: exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts and national accounts
Financial statistics monthly
- ZZ...EC........-F371A
- 1983 - 1998
Principle Global Indicators
- Provides data for the Group of 20 economies (G-20) and some other important financial sectors that are not members of the G-20
- Available online
Finance Lab (Rotman School of Management)
Factiva
- Select "Quotes" from the Companies/Markets dropdown list for historical stock prices
Alpha Vantage Stock Market APIs
- "Canada, US, European, and other global financial and economic datasets including stock/ETF prices, company financials, foreign exchange rates, and quantitative indicators such as momentum and volatility."
- University of Toronto members can contact support@alphavantage.co for a free academic account and direct technical support
- Refer to Practical guide to financial data APIs for technical integration tips and code samples

National Accounts

Yearbook of National Accounts Statistics (United Nations)
- UN2..S...30..Y25....ENG
- 1957 - 1981
- 1982 - 2007 (incomplete)
- Covers more than 130 countries and areas
- Vol.1 Individual country data, includes gross domestic product expenditure; national income and national disposable income; capital transactions of the nations; gross domestic product by kind of economic activity; domestic factor incomes; supply and disposition of commodities; government final consumption expenditure; private final consumption expenditure; distribution of capital flows; income and outlay and capital transactions by corporations, institutions, governments and by households; external transaction
- Vol.2 International table, contains internationally comparable data
National accounts (Quarterly) (OECD)
- ZZ...EC..21..N12....EXF
- Dec. 1975 - Dec. 2007
- Online: OECD iLibrary
- 1st volume contains the main aggregates of each country over a period of up to 20 years
- 2nd volume gives each country's detailed statistics for the last 12 years
National Accounts (Quarterly) - Historical Statistics
- ZZ...EC..21..Q76....EXF
- 1960/1971

Balance of payments

Balance of Payments Statistical Yearbook (IMF)
- Online: annual and quarterly data from 1940 +
- UN9..MF......B16....ENG
- 1938/46/47 +
- Previously called Balance of Payment Yearbook (1938 - 1981)
- Part 1 provides detailed tables on balance of payments statistics for approximately 170 countries and international investment position data for 105 countries
- Part 2 includes tables of regional and world totals of major balance of payment components

Government finance

Government Finance Statistics Yearbook (IMF)
- Online: 1990 +
- UN9..MF......G52
- 1977 +
- Includes data on transactions in revenue, expense, net acquisition of assets and liabilities, other economic flows and blances of assets and liabilities of general government and its subsectors

Debt

Global Development Finance (World Bank)
- UN9..MG........-W542
- 1997 +
- "Tracks the annual movement of international capital flows to developing countries"
- Provides historical statistics in 5 years interval from 1990
- Contains statistics on debt, resource flows, major economic aggregates including GNI, debt indicators, interest payment, principal repayment and etc.
Central government debt: statistical yearbook = Dette de l'administration centrale: annuaire statistique
- ZZ...ED........-C24
- 2000, 2001, 2004+
- Available online 2003+
The little data book on external debt
- UN9..MG........-L37
- 2006 +
- Available online
External debt statistics
- ZZ...ED........-E83
- 1985/86 - 1993/94, 1996 - 2002
- Available online

Direct investment

World investment report
- UN5..E..100....-W53
- 1991 +
- Online, 1991+
- "Focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels"
- Each issue contains:
  - "Analysis of the trends in FDI during the previous year
  - Ranking of the largest transnational corporations in the world
  - In-depth analysis of a selected topic related to FDI
  - Policy analysis and recommendations
  - Statistical annex with data on FDI flows and stocks for 196 economies"
International direct investment statistics yearbook
- ZZ...ED........-I52
- 1993 - 2004
- "Details historical statistics on international direct investment to and from the OECD. Data are broken down by geographical zone and industrial sector for direct investment flows and stocks"
- Available online1999-2004
- Continued by OECD International Direct Investment Statistics
World investment directory: foreign direct investment, legal framework and corporate data
- UN5..E..100-1992W53
- 1992 - 2004

Revenue

Revenue statistics
- ZZ...EC.140..R27....EXF
- 1968/70, 1965/72 - 1965 2007
- "Provides detailed tables, by country, on sources of government revenues, including compulsory social security contributions. A special secton compares the tax/benefit position of a typical worker in each country"
- Available online 1999+

Economic statistics

Economic Statistics

Others

Annual Report - Bank for International Settlements
- 1930/38 +
- The BIS "serves as a bank for central banks and plays an important role in providing central banks with a broad range of financial services for managing their external reserves
- The annual report is an important source for asset prices, exchange rates, and capital flows
- Reports the bank holdings of foreign assets and liabilities for approximately 236 countries and/or regions"
- 1931+ available online
Annual report of the executive directors for the fiscal year
- UN9..MF......A56....ENG
- 1946 -2006
- 1996+ available online
Annual Report on Exchange Arrangements & Exchange Restrictions
- UN9..MF......A52....ENG
- 1950 - 2003

Research Guides

Statistics

General

National Accounts

Balance of payments

Government finance

Debt

Direct investment

Revenue

Economic statistics

Others

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us