Skip to main content

APS112: Engineering Strategies & Practice 2017

Articles

Research articles are often on a specific research topic, and are usually written in technical terms.

They may be original research, or a retrospective look at what has been done in a field.

They may be peer-reviewed (or not), conference proceedings, or  journal articles.

To search for articles, use a database.  More info on databases in included in the box below (Find Articles).

Each database is slightly different and covers different resources, so you might want to search 2 or 3 databases in order to ensure you aren't missing anything!

Find Articles

You can use a database to find articles related to your design project. 

A database will search hundreds or even thousands of journals at once. U of T subscribes to multiple article databases that you can use to find articles from journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, and other sources of information.

The key engineering databases are included in the "Databases" box on the left side of this web page. 

Many of the top engineering databases that cover engineering listed here can also linked from Engineering & Computer Science Library's homepage in the Major Resources box.

Get it!

Getting your article:

  • Many databases have direct full-text links to the article online. 
  • Most indexes now have a 'get it!" button. Use this link to find online copies or to search the library catalogue automatically.

 

 

  • If there is no full-text link, you can look up the journal or conference title in the U of T Library Catalogue to see if we have it in print or online.

What is peer review?

Engineering Databases

Database tutorials

Using COMPENDEX

Here is a brief primer on how use a top-quality article database such as COMPENDEX (aka Engineering Index) to find articles on your topic. COMPENDEX can be used to find research-level as well as more general articles on any engineering topic.

For example, if you are looking for articles on energy efficient residential window systems:

Compendex search example


Examine the search results. If you need to focus or change your search, you can use the subject headings on the right of the results screen to include ONLY those search terms:


controlled vocabulary example

Next use the

or

buttons to check for online or hardcopy at U of T Libraries.

Still confused? For more information use the tutorial link in the box above or visit the Reference Help Desk at the Engineering & Computer Science libary!