Early Canadiana Online (ECO) is a digital library providing access to over 1,330,000 pages of Canada's printed heritage. It features works published from the time of the first European settlers up to the early 20th Century.
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)
Consists of works about the Americas published not only in the United States but from across the globe. This collection of important and many hard-to-find primary sources opens a window onto the society, politics, culture, religious beliefs, and contemporary opinions both at home and abroad that covers a period of more than 400 years.
The material is organized into five series: Occasional Papers of the Champlain Society, Hudson’s Bay Company Series, Ontario Series, Publications of the Champlain Society, and Works of Samuel de Champlain.
Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
It links you to 2 million digital items.* Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects * Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers * Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts * Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
An archive of multilingual digitized books and multimedia content in all subject areas. The Internet Archive includes 1.3 million texts; 345,000 audio recordings; 66,000 concerts; 170,000 moving images; software; and open educational resources. The Wayback Machine archives over 150 billion web pages from 1996+. Search by title, creator, description, collection, and media type
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories includes 2,162 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of information, so providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950