Skip to main content

BIOD30: Plant Research and Biotechnology

Winter 2017, Prof. Clare Hasenkampf

Sample Search: Web of Science

Now that you have your keywords and databases, you're ready to do some searching!

1. Go to the Web of Science: Core Collection database.

2. Enter in your first concept and any related terms into the first line, separating them with OR. 
 

a Basic Search form in Web of Science


The default search field is "Topic," which can be changed using the drop-down menu. You can also add additional terms and fields if needed.

Note that databases like Web of Science search one concept per line - so molecular pharming and its synonyms go on the first line, plants and its synonyms go on the second line, and vaccines and its synonyms go on the third line, etc. Once ready, hit "Search."


a Basic Search form in Web of Science


3. Review Your Results

The search brought back 242 results - not bad, but still a bit high. Use the "Refine Results" column to help narrow down your search. Limiters such as Language, Research Area, Publication Year, and Document Type are good places to start.
 

Refine Results column in Web of Science


You can also sort results using the drop-down menu; Times Cited -- highest to lowest and Relevance are useful options.
 

Sory by option in Web of Science


4. View Article Records

Once you find an article relevant to your topic, click the title to view the article's record.

There's a lot of useful information here! Use these details to track down other relevant articles or to expand/refine your search as needed.

  1. Full Text Options
  2. Print/Save/Export Options
  3. Citation Information
  4. Abstract
  5. Keywords
  6. Times Cited and Cited References
     

Article record in Web of Science


5. Download Articles

Click the "Get it! UTL" button to access the full-text of your article. This can be found under the "Full Text Options" drop-down menu within an article's record, as well as underneath citation information on the results page.
 

GetIt! button for article full-text


If you have any problems, please write down the citations of any articles you want and bring them to the library or contact us.